clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLB announces 2013 Silver Slugger winners

New, comments

The best offensive performers of the 2013 regular season get to take home a big silver bat. Literally.

Tom Szczerbowski

Major League Baseball has announced its Silver Slugger winners of the 2013 season, breaking down the best offensive performances of the year by position.

There are many of the expected repeat winners -- including Miguel Cabrera, Mike Trout and Robinson Cano -- but also a whole host of first-time winners.

Of the 18 awardees, nine are newcomers: Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt takes home his first silver lumber, as do Rockies right fielder Michael Cuddyer, Pirates third baseman Pedro Alvarez, Dodgers right-hander Zack Greinke, Cardinals second baseman Matt Carpenter and catcher Yadier Molina, and a trio of O's: shortstop J.J. Hardy, center fielder Adam Jones and first baseman Chris Davis.

David Ortiz wins his sixth award, putting him halfway to Barry Bonds' record mark of 12 Silver Sluggers.

Here's the full list of winners:

American League

C: Joe Mauer - Twins
1B: Chris Davis - Orioles
2B: Robinson Cano - Yankees
SS: J.J. Hardy - Orioles
3B: Miguel Cabrera - Tigers
OF: Torii Hunter - Tigers
OF: Mike Trout - Angels
OF: Adam Jones - Orioles
DH: David Ortiz - Red Sox

National League

C: Yadier Molina - Cardinals
1B: Paul Goldschmidt - Diamondbacks
2B: Matt Carpenter - Cardinals
SS: Ian Desmond - Nationals
3B: Pedro Alvarez - Pirates
OF: Michael Cuddyer - Rockies
OF: Andrew McCutchen - Pirates
OF: Jay Bruce - Reds
P: Zack Greinke - Dodgers

More from SB Nation MLB:

Goldman: Was George Steinbrenner a Hall of Famer?

MLB trade rumors | Tigers could move Max Scherzer

A buyer's guide to free agent position players

Leyland’s legacy: Changing the baseball culture in Detroit

How to fix the: Twins | Marlins | Astros | Cubs