clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Yankees catcher strikes out on two strikes

New, comments

He didn't forget how to count, just how to listen.

Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

If you've ever watched baseball -- okay, even if you haven't -- you're likely aware that it takes three strikes for a player to strike out. On Thursday night, though, Yankees catcher Chris Stewart decided two strikes was enough, and headed back to the bench after swinging and missing on a 1-1 pitch from Orioles starter Wei-Yin Chen.

Apparently, Stewart thought he heard the ump call strike one after the first pitch, which was in fact a ball. So, when Stewart missed on the third offering, he headed back to the Yankees bench, assuming he was out. The Orioles' battery was obviously not going to say anything -- Wei-Yin Chen even mentioned after the game that, back in Japan, when an opponent didn't walk after a fourth ball, Chen just kept on pitching to him. It is a little weird that the umpire didn't speak up, though. Stewart said as much, stating it would have been a "nice little courtesy" for a heads up.

Maybe the ump felt this would be a lesson to Stewart to actually pay attention next time. He didn't give out any quotes explaining his inaction, so we'll just have to assume tough love is to blame.

More from SB Nation MLB:

Searching for the slowest man in baseball

"The Sandlot" cast, 20 years later

30 ballparks,100 statues, one list

Marlins tell Jose Fernandez to tone down antics

Pride of the City: FDNY vs. NYPD's annual baseball game