clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Giants become 2nd NL team to win 3 World Series in 5 years

Giants are the first National League team to win three World Series in five years in 68 years.

Ezra Shaw

SB Nation 2014 MLB Bracket

The San Francisco Giants closed out the Kansas City Royals with a 3-2 win in Game 7 of the World Series on Wednesday night at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City. With its third World Series title in five years, the Giants join select company, just the second National League team ever to accomplish the feat.

The Giants have won nine straight postseason series — 10, if counting the 2014 NL Wild Card Game — including World Series wins in 2010, 2012 and now 2014.

The St. Louis Cardinals produced its own even year magic in 1942, 1944 and 1946, winning World Series titles behind Stan Musial, Enos Slaughter, Marty Marion and friends. Until these Giants, those 1940s Cardinals were the only National League team to win three championships in five years.

The American League has seen several teams win three (or more) titles in five (or fewer) years, beginning with the Philadelphia A's from 1910-1913. Other AL dynasties included the Boston Red Sox (1912-1916 and 1914-1918) and the Oakland Athletics (three straight from 1972-1974). But the New York Yankees have been most prolific at winning several titles in a five-year period: 1936-1939 (four straight), 1937-1941, 1939-1943, 1949-53 (five straight), 1952-1956, 1958-1962, and most recently, 1996-2000 (four titles).

Nine different Giants have played for all three World Series winners: Jeremy Affeldt, Madison Bumgarner, Matt Cain, Santiago Casilla, Tim Lincecum, Javier Lopez, Buster Posey, Sergio Romo, and Pablo Sandoval.