clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Andrew McCutchen, Giancarlo Stanton, Mike Trout among 2014 Silver Slugger Award winners

MLB announced the winners of the 2014 Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger awards on Thursday.

Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Baseball announced the 2014 Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger award winners on Thursday, with MVP candidates Mike Trout, Giancarlo Stanton and Andrew McCutchen among the top hitters at their respective positions.

Nine players from each league are selected as the best hitter for their respective position. Coaches and managers from across MLB vote for the players who they feel provided the most offensive production for their position, within each league. While the Gold Glove awards have begun integrating advanced statistics into their selection criteria, the Sliver Sluggers are still based on batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as "general impressions of a player's overall offensive value."  Managers and coaches may not vote for players on their respective teams.

The Silver Slugger award has been handed out since 1980, and is an extension of the Silver Bat Award, which recognizes the league batting champions.

The only repeat winners in the National League were Andrew McCutchen and Ian Desmond, while Trout repeated as a winner in the American League.

American League winners


Yan Gomes, Indians

First Base

Jose Abreu, White Sox

Second Base

Jose Altuve, Astros

Third Base

Adrian Beltre, Rangers


Alexei Ramirez, White Sox


Mike Trout, Angels

Jose Bautista, Blue Jays

Michael Brantley, Indians

Designated Hitter

Victor Martinez, Tigers

National League winners


Buster Posey, Giants

First Base

Adrian Gonzalez, Dodgers

Second Base

Neil Walker, Pirates

Third Base

Anthony Rendon, Nationals


Ian Desmond, Nationals


Justin Upton, Braves

Andrew McCutchen, Pirates

Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins


Madison Bumgarner, Giants