clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Home Run Derby 2014: Giancarlo Stanton, Yoenis Cespedes, Yasiel Puig among 8 added to roster

New, comments

Eighty percent of the 2014 Home Run Derby rosters were announced on Tuesday night, with captains Troy Tulowitzki and Jose Bautista announcing their selections on ESPN.

Joining Tulowitzki in the National League lineup is Giancarlo Stanton of the Marlins, Yasiel Puig of the Dodgers and Todd Frazier of the Reds. Bautista will be joined in the American League by Brian Dozier of the Twins, Adam Jones of the Orioles and Yoenis Cespedes of the Athletics.

Cespedes won the 2013 Home Run Derby at Citi Field in New York.

The fifth and final member of each league's team will be announced on Thursday.

The 2014 Home Run Derby will take place on Monday, July 14, at Target Field in Minnesota, the day before the midsummer classic. The Home Run Derby will be televised by ESPN and will be streamed online on beginning at 8 p.m. ET.

The format is new this year, with five participants in each league and seven outs each round. The top home run hitter in each league in the first round will get a bye into the semifinals, while the second and third place finishers in each league will do battle in the second round for the right to play the first-round winners in the semifinals.

The winner of each league will battle in the final round to determine the Home Run Derby champion.