clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Phillies throw combined no-hitter against Braves

Cole Hamels went six innings, and three relievers helped the Phillies to the 11th combined no-hitter in baseball history.

Scott Cunningham

Cole Hamels and three Philadelphia Phillies relievers combined to no-hit the Atlanta Braves on Monday, the 11th combined no-hitter in major-league history.

Hamels went six innings, but walked five and threw 108 pitches. In the top of the seventh, with a runner on second and two outs, Braves manager Fredi Gonzalez ordered an intentional walk to Cody Asche, bringing up Hamels's spot in the order. Phillies manager Ryne Sandberg sent up Grady Sizemore in his place, and the Phillies eventually scored three runs in the inning on a bases-loaded triple from Ben Revere. The Phillies eventually won, 7-0.

Jake Diekman pitched a perfect seventh for the Phillies, striking out two, and Ken Giles struck out the side for a perfect eighth. Jonathan Papelbon got a fly out and two grounders in the ninth, and the Phillies completed the no-hitter.

The last combined no-hitter in baseball was a six-pitcher effort from the Mariners in 2012. The first combined no-hitter was the infamous Babe Ruth/Ernie Shore perfect game in 1917. Here is the complete list of combined no-hitters in baseball history:

June 23, 1917 - Boston Red Sox (Babe Ruth, Ernie Shore)

April 30, 1967 - Baltimore Orioles (Steve Barber, Stu Miller)

September 28, 1975 - Oakland Athletics (Vida Blue, Glenn Abbott, Paul Lindblad, Rollie Fingers)

July 28, 1976 - Chicago White Sox (Blue Moon Odom, Francisco Barrios)

April 11, 1990 - California Angels (Mark Langston, Mike Witt)

July 13, 1991 - Baltimore Orioles (Bob Milacki, Mike Flanagan, Mark Williamson, Gregg Olson)

September 11, 1991 - Atlanta Braves (Kent Mercker, Mark Wohlers and Alejandro Pena)

July 12, 1997 - Pittsburgh Pirates (Francisco Cordova, Ricardo Rincon)

June 11, 2003 - Houston Astros (Roy Oswalt, Peter Munro, Kirk Saarloos, Brad Lidge, Octavio Dotel, Billy Wagner)

June 8, 2012 - Seattle Mariners (Kevin Millwood, Charlie Furbush, Stephen Pryor, Lucas Luetge, Brandon League and Tom Wilhelmsen)

September 1, 2014 - Philadelphia Phillies (Cole Hamels, Jake Diekman, Ken Giles, Jonathan Papelbon)