clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bryce Harper, Mike Trout headline 2015's Gold Glove finalists

New, comments

You'll have to wait more than another week before finding out who actually won.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

It took 90 minutes for Rawlings to spit out all the names of the finalists for the 2015 Gold Gloves, but thankfully, we now know them and won't have to wait by their Twitter account for the next tweet any longer.

Remember, the selection process for Gold Glove finalists and winners has changed in the last few years, so catch up if you need to: these days, it's not just coaches trying to remember who made some cool plays against them, accidentally getting Rafael Palmeiro a Gold Glove during a year he primarily was a designated hitter.

Thankfully, rather than force you to read 18 tweets of baseball player Twitter handles where you need to figure out who is who, Rawlings also released a full list of the finalists. There are names you expect -- Adrian Beltre, Manny Machado, Alex Gordon, Andrelton Simmons, Yadier Molina, and so on -- as well as some you might be surprised at, like Xander Bogaerts, who just a year go was a mess at shortstop. It seems like his offseason focusing on defense was well spent.

American League finalists:

Pitcher: Mark Buehrle, Sonny Gray and Dallas Keuchel

Catcher: Jason Castro, Russell Martin and Salvador Perez

First base: Eric Hosmer, Mike Napoli and Mark Teixeira

Second base: Jose Altuve, Brian Dozier and Ian Kinsler

Third base: Beltre, Evan Longoria and Machado

Shortstop: Bogaerts, Alcides Escobar and Didi Gregorius

Outfielders: Yoenis Cespedes, Brett Gardner and Alex Gordon in left field, Kevin Kiermaier, Kevin Pillar and Mike Trout in center field and Kole Calhoun, J.D. Martinez and Josh Reddick in right field.

National League finalists:

Pitcher: Jake Arrieta, Gerrit Cole and Zack Greinke

Catcher: Yadier Molina, Buster Posey and Wilson Ramos

First base: Brandon Belt, Paul Goldschmidt and Adrian Gonzalez.

Second base: Dee Gordon, D.J. Lemahieu and Brandon Phillips

Third base: Nolan Arenado, Matt Duffy and Todd Frazier

Shortstop: Brandon Crawford, Adeiny Hechavarria and Simmons

Outfielders: Starling Marte, Justin Upton and Christian Yelich in left field, Billy Hamilton, Andrew McCutchen and A.J. Pollack in center field and Curtis Granderson, Bryce Harper and Jason Heyward in right field.

It's lovely to see both Harper and Trout recognized, as it only adds fuel to that particular fiery competition.

The winners will not be revealed until Tues., Nov. 10, at 7 p.m. ET.