clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Gold Glove winners: Kansas City Royals take home three awards

Salvador Perez, Eric Hosmer and Alcides Escobar were all 2015 Gold Glove winners for the World Series champion Royals on Tuesday night. The Cardinals, Diamondbacks and Astros also had multiple winners.

Robert Deutsch-USA TODAY Sports

The 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners were announced on Tuesday night, with several streaks of fielding recognition the name of the game.

The World Series champion Kansas City Royals had three players win 2015 Gold Glove Awards -- Salvador Perez at catcher (his third straight award), Eric Hosmer at first base (third straight) and Alcides Escobar at shortstop (his first). Alex Gordon in left field was considered a favorite to win a fifth straight Gold Glove and join his teammates, but he was beaten out by former Tigers left fielder Yoenis Cespedes, now on the Mets.

In the National League, Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado, 24, won his third straight award, with Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke winning his second straight honor as the best-fielding pitcher. Giants shortstop Brian Crawford ended a bid for what would have been Atlanta Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons' third straight Gold Glove.

The longest streak heading into 2015 continued when St. Louis Cardinals backstop Yadier Molina won his eighth straight Gold Glove, nudging out San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey.

Managers and coaches in each league vote for the Gold Glove Award, with the caveats that you can only vote for players in your league but can't select players on your own team. There is also a statistical component that accounts for a portion of the results.

Here are the full list of winners.

American League

Pitcher: Dallas Keuchel, Astros

Catcher: Salvador Perez, Royals

First base: Eric Hosmer, Royals

Second base: Jose Altuve, Astros

Third base: Manny Machado, Orioles

Shortstop: Alcides Escobar, Royals

Left field: Yoenis Cespedes, Tigers

Center field: Kevin Kiermaier, Rays

Right field: Kole Calhoun, Angels

National League

Pitcher: Zack Greinke, Dodgers

Catcher: Yadier Molina, Cardinals

First base: Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks

Second base: Dee Gordon, Marlins

Third base: Nolan Arenado, Rockies

Shortstop: Brandon Crawford, Giants

Left field: Starling Marte, Pirates

Center field: A.J. Pollock, Diamondbacks

Right field: Jason Heyward, Cardinals

* * *

SB Nation presents: What the Royals went through since their last World Series title