clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BBWAA awards 2015: TV schedule, time & how to watch Manager of the Year announcements

The Baseball Writers Association of America will announce the winners of the Manager of the Year in each league on Tuesday.

Joe Maddon and Mike Matheny combined for 197 victories as managers in 2015 during the regular season.
Joe Maddon and Mike Matheny combined for 197 victories as managers in 2015 during the regular season.
Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

Five of the six finalists for Manager of the Year led their teams to the playoffs in 2015. The winners in each league will be announced by the Baseball Writers Association of America on Tuesday, the second of four days of MLB awards.

The Manager of the Year awards in both the American League and National League will be announced on MLB Network on Tuesday evening beginning at 6 p.m. ET. Greg Amsinger hosts the hour-long show, with each award announcement made by BBWAA secretary-treasurer Jack O'Connell.

The two Rookie of the Year winners were announced on Monday, with Cy Young Awards coming Wednesday and MVP awards on Thursday.

The top three finishers for each award were announced last week.

American League finalists

Jeff Banister, Texas Rangers
A.J. Hinch, Houston Astros
Paul Molitor, Minnesota Twins

The junior circuit features three relatively inexperienced managers, with Banister and Molitor each in their first years at the helm of major league teams and Hinch completing his first full season. Hinch did manage the Diamondbacks for parts of two seasons, but took over midseason in 2009 and was fired from his first big league managerial gig midseason in 2010.

National League finalists

Terry Collins, New York Mets
Joe Maddon, Chicago Cubs
Mike Matheny, St. Louis Cardinals

The National League finalists have more experience on their side. Matheny is the relative green skipper of the top three finishers with four years of experience, but all he has done is average 94 wins per year with four straight October trips for St. Louis. Maddon's first year with the Cubs went better than expected with 97 wins and a trip to the NLCS. He won AL Manager of the Year honors with Tampa Bay in 2008 and 2011.

Collins, 66, made his first playoff appearance in 2015 in his 11th season as an MLB manager and took the Mets all the way to the World Series, though it should be noted that voting by the BBWAA writers was completed before the postseason began.

How to watch

Time: 6 p.m. ET

TV: MLB Network