clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 MLB free agent list: 139 players file one day after the World Series

Free agents are free to sign with new teams after 11:59 p.m. ET on Friday.

Chris Davis and Ben Zobrist are two of the 139 MLB players to become free agents on Monday.
Chris Davis and Ben Zobrist are two of the 139 MLB players to become free agents on Monday.
Mitchell Layton/Getty Images

The World Series ended on Sunday night, so the Major League Baseball offseason officially began on Monday morning. As of 9 a.m. ET, 139 players are now free agents per Article XX, Section B of the collective bargaining agreement.

These are players with six years of major league service time and without a contract for next season. The group is highlighted by ace pitchers such as Johnny Cueto, David Price and Jordan Zimmermann, as well as hitters like Chris Davis, Jason Heyward and Ben Zobrist.

Yoenis Cespedes, who signed with Oakland as a free agent out of Cuba before the 2012 season, doesn't have the six years of service time required per the CBA, but under terms of his contract is also a free agent.

Per the MLB Players Association, there are another 35 players who could become free agents based on option provisions in their contract. Some of these players include Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke, Kansas City Royals left fielder Alex Gordon, and Toronto Blue Jays first baseman Edwin Encarnacion.

The list of free agents includes six players who have already announced their retirement — Torii Hunter, Tim Hudson, Barry Zito, Dan Haren, Jeremy Affeldt, LaTroy Hawkins — and also includes not one, but two Chris Youngs.

Here are the 139 players who are now free agents, eligible to negotiate and sign contracts with new teams after 11:59 p.m. ET on Friday.

American League

Orioles (6): Wei-Yin Chen, Chris Davis, Darren O`Day, Gerardo Parra, Steve Pearce, Matt Wieters

Red Sox (2): Craig Breslow, Rich Hill

Indians (3): Mike Aviles, Gavin Floyd, Ryan Webb

White Sox (4): Matt Albers, Gordon Beckham, Jeff Samardzija, Geovany Soto

Tigers (5): Alex Avila, Rajai Davis, Tom Gorzelanny, Alfredo Simon, Randy Wolf

Astros (5): Scott Kazmir, Oliver Perez, Colby Rasmus, Tony Sipp, Joe Thatcher

Royals (5): Johnny Cueto, Ryan Madson, Franklin Morales, Chris Young, Ben Zobrist

Angels (6): David Freese, Chris Iannetta, Matt Joyce, Mat Latos, Shane Victorino, Wesley Wright

Twins (5): Blaine Boyer, Neal Cotts, Brian Duensing, Torii Hunter, Mike Pelfrey

Yankees (3): Chris Capuano, Stephen Drew, Chris Young

Athletics (2): Edward Mujica, Barry Zito

Mariners (3): Joe Beimel, Franklin Gutierrez, Hasashi Iwakuma

Rays (3): Asdrubal Cabrera, John Jaso, Grady Sizemore

Rangers (6): Yovani Gallardo, Colby Lewis, Mike Napoli, Ross Ohlendorf, Drew Stubbs, Will Venable

Blue Jays (9): Mark Buehrle, Marco Estrada, Jeff Francis, LaTroy Hawkins, Munenori Kawasaki, Mark Lowe, Dioner Navarro, Cliff Pennington, David Price

National League

Braves (4): Ross Detwiler, Edwin Jackson, Peter Moylan, A.J. Perzynski

Diamondbacks (2): David Hernandez, Jarrod Saltalamacchia

Cubs (8): Trevor Cahill, Chris Denorfia, Dexter Fowler, Dan Haren, Tommy Hunter, Austin Jackson, Jason Motte, Fernando Rodney

Reds (3): Sean Marshall, Manny Parra, Brayan Pena

Rockies (2): Kyle Kendrick, Justin Morneau

Dodgers (3): Brett Anderson, Howie Kendrick, Jimmy Rollins

Marlins (3): Don Kelly, Jeff Mathis, Casey McGehee

Brewers (1): Kyle Lohse

Mets (9): Jerry Blevins, Yoenis Cespedes, Tyler Clippard, Bartolo Colon, Kelly Johnson, Daniel Murphy, Eric O`Flaherty, Bobby Parnell, Juan Uribe

Phillies (4): Chad Billingsley, Jeff Francoeur, Aaron Harang, Jerome Williams

Pirates (8): Antonio Bastardo, Joe Blanton, A.J. Burnett, J.A. Happ, Corey Hart, Aramis Ramirez, Sean Rodriguez, Joakim Soria

Padres (6): Josh Johnson, Shawn Kelley, Ian Kennedy, Brandon Morrow, Bud Norris, Justin Upton

Giants (7): Jeremy Affeldt, Alejandro De Aza, Tim Hudson, Mike Leake, Tim Lincecum, Marco Scutaro, Ryan Vogelsong

Cardinals (6): Matt Belisle, Randy Choate, Jason Heyward, John Lackey, Mark Reynolds, Carlos Villaneuva

Nationals (6): Ian Desmond, Doug Fister, Denard Span, Matt Thornton, Dan Uggla, Jordan Zimmermann