clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Home Run Derby 2015: Time, TV schedule, participants and more

Here are all the details for the eight-player 2015 Home Run Derby, which begins at 8 p.m. ET from Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati.

The 2015 Home Run Derby is upon us, and this year features a new format designed to increase interest in the event. Here are the details of the eight-player field that will do battle on Monday night at Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati.

The big change to the event this year is the introduction of brackets in a single-elimination tournament, with three rounds.

The eight contestants are, in order of seeding:

  1. Albert Pujols of the Los Angeles Angels
  2. Todd Frazier of the host Cincinnati Reds
  3. Josh Donaldson of the Toronto Blue Jays
  4. Joc Pederson of the Los Angeles Dodgers
  5. Manny Machado of the Baltimore Orioles
  6. Anthony Rizzo of the Chicago Cubs
  7. Prince Fielder of the Texas Rangers
  8. Kris Bryant of the Chicago Cubs

In each round, the better seed will hit second.

Each of the three rounds will consist of five minutes per batter, per round, with the time starting when the first pitch is thrown. For any home runs hit in the final minute, the clock will stop, and won't start again until the batter either hits a ball that isn't a home run or swings and misses.

Batters are allowed one 45-second timeout per round.

Batters can earn up to 90 seconds of bonus time during each round -- one minute for hitting two home runs at least 420 feet, and 30 seconds for hitting one home run at least 475 feet. The bonus will be awarded at the end of the round, with the clock never stopping during bonus time.

The batter with the most home runs in each round moves on. If the two contestants are tied, they will take part in a 90-second swing-off with no time stoppages. If the round is still tied after the 90-second swing-off, the two batters will alternate three-swing swing-offs until there is a winner.

If the second batter passes the first batter, the round will end regardless of time remaining.

Fielder won the Home Run Derby in both 2009 and 2012. Pederson and Bryant are just the fifth and sixth rookies to take part in the Home Run Derby, and the first rookies since Mike Piazza in 1993.

The Home Run Derby begins at 8 p.m. ET and will be televised live by ESPN. The event will also be available via ESPN Deportes, WatchESPN and ESPN Radio.

Here is the bracket.