clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baseball Hall of Fame 2015: Time, TV schedule, live stream and inductees

Gregory Fisher-USA TODAY Sports

The 2015 class on the National Baseball Hall of Fame is quite deep, with four legends inducted into Cooperstown on Sunday afternoon. Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz and Craig Biggio are the men of honor on Sunday, with live coverage on MLB Network.

Hall of Fame coverage begins on MLB Network at 11 a.m. ET, with the 2015 Hall of Fame Awards presentation. This hour will feature longtime Detroit Tigers beat writer Tom Gage, inducted as the J.G. Spink Award winner, and play-by-play announcer Dick Enberg, this year's winner of the Ford C. Frick Award. These speeches and ceremonies were recorded on Saturday night.

Live coverage from Cooperstown begins at noon, and the induction ceremony starts at 1:30 p.m.

Brian Kenny and Greg Amsinger will host MLB Network's coverage, joined by analysts Peter Gammons, Harold Reynolds and Kevin Millar.

MLB Network's coverage will also be simulcast online at as well as, plus authenticated streaming using the MLB AtBat app.

Here are the four inductees in this year's class, in order of vote percentage received.

Randy Johnson

The imposing 6'10 left-hander received 97.3 percent of the vote, thanks to a remarkable career that saw him win 303 games and strikeout 4,875 batters, the latter ranking second all-time. He won five Cy Young Awards, including each of his first four years with the Arizona Diamondbacks plus another with the Seattle Mariners.

More coverage at AZ Snake Pit and Lookout Landing.

Pedro Martinez

The diminutive right-hander was once traded by the Dodgers for fear he wouldn't be durable enough to start, but Martinez made eight All-Star teams, started 409 games, went 219-100 and struck out 3,154 batters. Martinez won three Cy Young Awards, one with the Montreal Expos and two with the Boston Red Sox, and is the all-time leader in ERA+ (154) among starting pitchers. He received 91.1 percent of the vote.

More coverage at Over The Monster.

John Smoltz

Smoltz was a part of one of the great pitching trios of all-time, alongside fellow Hall of Famers Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine with the Atlanta Braves. Smoltz is the only pitcher in baseball history with 200 wins (he has 213) and 150 saves (154), and he won the 1996 National League Cy Young Award. He received 82.9 percent of the vote in his first year on the ballot.

More coverage at Talking Chop.

Craig Biggio

Unlike his three fellow inductees, Biggio took three years on the ballot to gain election into Cooperstown, falling only two votes shy in 2014. Biggio made seven All-Star teams, collected 3,060 hits and 668 doubles, and won Silver Slugger Awards at both catcher and second base. He played all 20 years of his career with the Houston Astros, and was elected with 82.7 percent of the vote in 2015.

More coverage at Crawfish Boxes.

In addition to the coverage of the Hall of Fame ceremonies, MLB Network at 8 p.m. on Sunday will feature 'Studio 42 with Bob Costas,' a roundtable of the three pitchers elected in this year's class - Johnson, Martinez and Smoltz.

2015 Hall of Fame coverage

11 a.m. ET: Awards coverage (Gage, Enberg)

Noon: Live from Cooperstown

1:30 p.m.: Induction ceremonies (Johnson, Martinez, Smoltz, Biggio)

8 p.m.: Roundtable with Bob Costas (Johnson, Martinez, Smoltz)

TV: MLB Network

Online:,, MLB AtBat app.


SB Nation presents: A-Rod's 3,000 hits taught us to love ourselves