clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

139 players now free agents as MLB offseason officially begins

Players can begin signing with new teams on Monday

ALCS - Cleveland Indians v Toronto Blue Jays - Game Five Photo by Tom Szczerbowski/Getty Images

With the World Series now over, the Major League Baseball offseason has arrived. At 9 a.m. ET on Thursday morning, 139 players officially became free agents under Article XX B of the collective bargaining agreement.

The list is headlined by stars such as Toronto Blue Jays sluggers Jose Bautista and Edwin Encarnacion, major league home run leader Mark Trumbo of the Baltimore Orioles, and closers Aroldis Chapman of the Chicago Cubs, Kenley Jansen of the Los Angeles Dodgers, and Mark Melancon of the Washington Nationals.

Yoenis Cespedes, who is expected to opt out of the final two seasons of his two-year contract with the New York Mets, is one of a number of players with option provisions who could join this list of free agents later this week.

There is a quiet period of five days following the World Series, during which players are free to negotiate with any team but not allowed to sign with a new team. Once the quiet period expires, at 12:01 a.m. ET on Tuesday, free agents can sign with any team.

Here is the full list of free agents, listed by team:

American League

Angels (6): Andrew Bailey rhp, Jhoulys Chacin rhp, Tim Lincecum rhp, Geovany Soto c, Jered Weaver rhp, C.J. Wilson lhp

Astros (4): Jason Castro c, Doug Fister rhp, Colby Rasmus of, Luis Valbuena 3b

Athletics (2): Ross Detwiler lhp, Sam Fuld of

Blue Jays (9): Jose Bautista of, Joaquin Benoit rhp, Brett Cecil lhp, R.A. Dickey rhp, Edwin Encarnacion 1b/dh, Scott Feldman rhp, Gavin Floyd rhp, Dioner Navarro c, Michael Saunders of

Indians (3): Marlon Byrd of, Rajai Davis of, Mike Napoli 1b/dh

Mariners (4): Franklin Gutierrez of, Adam Lind 1b, Dae-ho Lee of, Drew Storen rhp

Orioles (9): Pedro Alvarez dh, Michael Bourn of, Brian Duensing lhp, Tommy Hunter rhp, Steve Pearce 1b, Nolan Reimold of, Drew Stubbs of, Mark Trumbo of/1b, Matt Wieters c

Rangers (5): Carlos Beltran of, Ian Desmond of/ss, Carlos Gomez of, Colby Lewis rhp, Mitch Moreland 1b

Rays (3): Kevin Jepsen rhp, Logan Morrison of/1b, Alexei Ramirez ss

Red Sox (4): Aaron Hill if, Junichi Tazawa rhp, Koji Uehara rhp, Brad Ziegler rhp

Royals (2): Drew Butera c, Peter Moylan rhp

Tigers (3): Erick Aybar ss, Casey McGehee 3b, Jarrod Saltalamacchia c

Twins (1): Kurt Suzuki c

White Sox (3): Alex Avila c, Austin Jackson of, Justin Morneau 1b

Yankees (2): Billy Butler dh/1b, Mark Teixeira 1b

National League

Braves (3): Emilio Bonifacio if/of, Eric O’Flaherty lhp, A.J. Pierzynski c

Brewers (2): Blaine Boyer rhp, Chris Capuano lhp

Cardinals (2): Brandon Moss 1b/of, Jerome Williams rhp

Cubs (7): Trevor Cahill rhp, Aroldis Chapman lhp, Chris Coghlan of/if, Munenori Kawasaki if, David Ross c, Joe Smith rhp, Travis Wood lhp

Diamondbacks (2): Daniel Hudson rhp, Rickie Weeks of

Dodgers (9): Brett Anderson lhp, Joe Blanton rhp, Jesse Chavez rhp, Rich Hill lhp, J.P. Howell lhp, Kenley Jansen rhp, Justin Turner 3b, Chase Utley 2b

Giants (8): Gordon Beckham if, Gregor Blanco of, Santiago Casilla rhp, Javier Lopez lhp, Joe Nathan rhp, Angel Pagan of, Jake Peavy rhp, Sergio Romo rhp

Marlins (7): Andrew Cashner rhp, Mike Dunn lhp, Jeff Francoeur of, Chris Johnson 3b/1b, Jeff Mathis c, Dustin McGowan rhp, Fernando Rodney rhp

Mets (7): Jerry Blevins lhp, Bartolo Colon rhp, Alejandro de Aza of, Kelly Johnson if, James Loney 1b, Fernando Salas rhp, Neil Walker 2b

Nationals (8): Matt Belisle rhp, Sen Burnett lhp, Stephen Drew if, Chris Heisey of, Mat Latos rhp, Mark Melancon rhp, Wilson Ramos c, Marc Rzepczynski lhp

Padres (6): Edwin Jackson rhp, Jon Jay of, Brandon Morrow rhp, Clayton Richard lhp, Adam Rosales if, Carlos Villanueva rhp

Phillies (5): Andres Blanco if, Peter Bourjos of, A.J. Ellis c, Jeremy Hellickson rhp, David Hernandez rhp

Pirates (5): Neftali Feliz rhp, Matt Joyce of, Ivan Nova rhp, Sean Rodriguez if, Ryan Vogelsong rhp

Reds (2): Ross Ohlendorf rhp, Alfredo Simon rhp

Rockies (6): Jorge De La Rosa lhp, Daniel Descalso if, Nick Hundley c, Boone Logan lhp, Ryan Raburn of, Mark Reynolds 1b