clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Gold Glove winners: Buster Posey gets his first, Adrian Beltre gets his fifth

The Giants had the most winners on the night, with three earning recognition. The Cubs and the Rangers each had multiple winners, as well.

Division Series - Chicago Cubs v San Francisco Giants- Game Three Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images

The 2016 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners were announced Tuesday night, and several streaks of fielding recognition was the name of the game.

The World Series Champions Chicago Cubs did quite all right in the voting, earning awards for Anthony Rizzo — the youngest Cub to ever win the award, which was his first — along with Jason Heyward with his third straight Golden Glove and his fourth overall.

The San Francisco Giants earned the most awards for a singe team with three, while Cubs and the Texas Rangers had two each.

There were multiple first-time winners in this year’s selections. Giants catcher Buster Posey broke the eight-year streak of Yadier Molina as he picked up his first Golden Glove. Ian Kinsler of the Tigers brought home his first, along with Joe Panik (Giants), Francisco Lindor (Indians), Mitch Moreland (Rangers), Ender Inciarte (Braves), Brett Gardner (Yankees), Mookie Betts (Red Sox), and Rizzo.

Repeat winners include Adrian Beltre (Rangers) with his fifth; Nolan Arenado (Rockies), Salvador Perez (Royals), and Heyward earned their fourth; Zack Greinke (Diamondbacks) and Dallas Keuchel (Astros) each earned their third straight; and Brandon Crawford (Giants), Kevin Kiermaier (Rays), and Starling Marte (Pirates) received their second.

Managers and coaches in each league vote for the Gold Glove Award, with the caveats that they can vote only for players in their league but can't select players on their own teams. There is also a statistical component that accounts for a portion of the results.

Here is a list of all the winners this year:


Pitcher: Zack Greinke, Diamondbacks
Catcher: Buster Posey, Giants
First base: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
Second base: Joe Panik, Giants
Third base: Nolan Arenado, Rockies
Shortstop: Brandon Crawford, Giants
Left field: Starling Marte, Pirates
Center field: Ender Inciarte, Braves
Right field: Jason Heyward, Cubs


Pitcher: Dallas Keuchel, Astros
Catcher: Salvador Perez, Royals
First base: Mitch Moreland, Rangers
Second base: Ian Kinsler, Tigers
Third base: Adrian Beltre, Rangers
Shortstop: Francisco Lindor, Indians
Left field: Brett Gardner, Yankees
Center field: Kevin Kiermaier, Tampa Bay Rays
Right field: Mookie Betts, Red Sox