clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Vladimir Guerrero, Trevor Hoffman fall just short of Hall of Fame induction

New, comments

Hoffman fell just five votes shy of induction

Trevor Hoffman #51
Trevor Hoffman fell just five votes shy of induction to Cooperstown.

The Baseball Writers Association of America voted in three new members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame, announced on Wednesday, but Trevor Hoffman and Vladimir Guerrero will have to wait at least one more year, falling just short of getting inducted into Cooperstown.

Hoffman received 327 of 442 total votes on BBWAA ballots this year, earning 74.0% of the vote in his second year on the ballot, up from 67.3% in 2016. Hoffman fell just five votes of induction.

Guerrero received 71.7% in his first year on the ballot, falling 15 votes shy.

Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines and Ivan Rodriguez were voted into the Hall of Fame on Wednesday, and will be inducted in Cooperstown on July 30.

Hoffman is second on the all-time saves list with 601, behind only Mariano Rivera, and posted a 2.87 ERA in 1,035 games, a 141 ERA+ in his 18-year career with the Florida Marlins, San Diego Padres and Milwaukee Brewers.

Hoffman led the league in saves in 1998 and 2006 and posted nine seasons of 40 or more saves. He finished second in National League Cy Young balloting in 1998 and 2006 and finished fifth in 1996, and made seven All-Star teams.

Guerrero hit 449 home runs and 477 doubles in his 16-year career with the Montreal Expos, Angels, Texas Rangers and Baltimore Orioles. The outfielder with the rocket arm and plate coverage like no other hit .318/.379/.553, a 140 OPS+.

He made nine All-Star teams, won eight Silver Slugger Awards, and won the 2004 American League MVP in 2004, his first year in Anaheim.

Others on the ballot to fall short included Edgar Martinez (58.6%), Roger Clemens (54.1%), Barry Bonds (53.8%) and Mike Musinna (51.8%), the only others to receive 50% of the vote.

Tim Raines is finally a Hall of Famer