clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WBC 2017: Schedule, scores, highlights, and more

Every score and result from the 16-team international tournament, won by the United States

Baseball: World Baseball Classic-Final-USA at Puerto Rico Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

The greatest international baseball tournament on Earth was 17 days of fun, with the United States coming out on top of the 16-team field, winning the 2017 World Baseball Classic.

It was the first WBC championship for Team USA, which endured quite a gauntlet to capture the crown, first beating the defending champion Dominican Republic in an elimination game to get past the second round. Then the United States beat undefeated Japan in the semifinals, then undefeated Puerto Rico in the championship game to win it all.

Toronto Blue Jays right-hander Marcus Stroman took a no-hitter into the seventh inning in the title game, and took home tournament MVP honors.

Japan, winner of the WBC in 2006 and 2009 and a semifinalist in 2013, made it through two rounds in Tokyo undefeated, and is the first team to reach the semifinals of all four World Baseball Classics.

Puerto Rico was undefeated until the final game, falling to Team USA 8-0. It was the second consecutive WBC championship game loss for Puerto Rico, who fell to the Dominican Republic in the title tilt in 2013.

Some of the best players in Major League Baseball participated in the event, including MVP winners Miguel Cabrera, Buster Posey, and Andrew McCutchen, Cy Young Award winner Felix Hernandez, and younger stars like Jose Altuve, Nolan Arenado, Francisco Lindor, and Manny Machado.


The 16 teams were split into four pools of four teams each, playing first-round games in Seoul, South Korea, Tokyo, Japan, Jalisco, Mexico, and Miami, Fla. The first round is a round robin format, with the top two teams from each pool advancing.

The second round featured two pools in Tokyo and San Diego, the latter at Petco Park. The second round is also a round robin format, with the top two teams from each pool advancing.

Teams & venues

First round

Pool A: Korea, Chinese Taipei, Netherlands, Israel
Gocheok Sky Dome, Seoul, South Korea

Pool B: Japan, Cuba, China, Australia
Tokyo Dome, Tokyo, Japan

Pool C: United States, Dominican Republic, Canada, Colombia
Marlins Park, Miami, Florida

Pool D: Mexico, Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Italy
Estadio de Beisbol Chharros de Jalisco, Jalisco, Mexico

Second round

Pool E: Israel, Netherlands, Japan, Cuba
Tokyo Dome, Tokyo, Japan

Pool F: Dominican Republic, United States, Puerto Rico, Venezuela
Petco Park, San Diego, California

Championship round

Semifinals and championship game
Japan, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, United States
Dodger Stadium, Los Angeles, California

Television, radio & online coverage

Every game will be televised on MLB Network, and available online through MLB Network as well, with television provider authentication. ESPN Deportes will televise games in Spanish, which are available for online streaming through WatchESPN.

ESPN Deportes Radio will also broadcast 31 games in Spanish, and ESPN Radio will broadcast the semifinals and final in English.

Schedule & results

All times ET

Monday, March 6

Israel def. Korea, 2-1 (10)
Israel def. Chinese Taipei, 15-7

Tuesday, March 7

Netherlands def. Korea, 5-0
Japan def. Cuba, 11-6
Cuba def. China, 6-0

Wednesday, March 8

Netherlands def. Chinese Tapei, 6-5
Japan def. Australia, 4-1
Israel def. Netherlands, 4-2

Thursday, March 9

Korea def. Chinese Taipei, 11-8
Australia def. China, 11-0
Dominican Republic def. Canada, 9-2
Italy def. Mexico, 10-9
Cuba def. Australia, 4-3

Friday, March 10

Japan def. China, 7-1
United States def. Colombia, 3-2 (10 innings)
Puerto Rico def. Venezuela 11-0 (7 innings)

Saturday, March 11

Colombia def. Canada, 4-1
Venezuela def. Italy, 11-10 (10 innings)
Dominican Republic def. United States, 7-5
Puerto Rico def. Mexico, 9-4
Israel def. Cuba, 4-1

Sunday, March 12

Japan def. Netherlands, 8-6 (11 innings)
Dominican Republic def. Colombia, 10-3
Puerto Rico def. Italy, 9-3
United States def. Canada, 8-0
Mexico def. Venezuela, 11-9

Monday, March 13

Netherlands def. Israel, 12-2
Venezuela def. Italy, 4-3

Tuesday, March 14

Japan def. Cuba, 8-5
Puerto Rico def. Dominican Republic, 3-1
Netherlands def. Cuba, 14-1

Wednesday, March 15

Japan def. Israel, 8-3
United States def. Venezuela, 4-2

Thursday, March 16

Dominican Republic def. Venezuela, 3-0

Friday, March 17

Puerto Rico def. United States, 6-5

Saturday, March 18

Puerto Rico def. Venezuela, 13-2
United States def. Dominican Republic, 6-3

Monday, March 20

Puerto Rico def. Netherlands, 4-3 (11 innings)

Tuesday, March 21

United States def. Japan, 2-1

Wednesday, March 22

Championship game: United States def. Puerto Rico, 8-0