clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Yadier Molina, Nolan Arenado headline 2018 MLB Gold Glove Award winners

6 first-time winners also capture top fielding honors

St Louis Cardinals v Los Angeles Dodgers
St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina won his ninth Gold Glove Award.
Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

The 2018 Gold Glove Awards is a mix of familiar faces joined by several newcomers, as Major League Baseball recognized its top fielders at each position.

Yadier Molina is the elder statesman among this year’s honorees, with the Cardinals catcher winning his ninth Gold Glove. The only catchers with more Gold Glove Awards are Hall of Famers Ivan Rodriguez (13 awards) and Johnny Bench (10), widely considered the two best defensive catchers of all-time.

Rockies star third baseman Nolan Arenado won his sixth award, the only infielder in major league history to win a Gold Glove in each of his first six seasons.

National League Gold Glove winners

Position Player Team Career GG
Position Player Team Career GG
C Yadier Molina Cardinals 9th
1B* Freddie Freeman Braves 1st
1B* Anthony Rizzo Cubs 2nd
2B D.J. LeMahieu Rockies 3rd
3B Nolan Arenado Rockies 6th
SS Nick Ahmed Diamondbacks 1st
LF Corey Dickerson Pirates 1st
CF Ender Inciarte Braves 3rd
RF Nick Markakis Braves 3rd
P Zack Greinke Diamondbacks 5th
*Freeman & Rizzo tied for the 1B award

Royals left fielder Alex Gordon also won his sixth Gold Glove, while Royals catcher Salvador Perez and Diamondbacks pitcher Zack Greinke each captured their fifth such honor.

But this year also saw six players win their first Gold Glove, including Athletics third baseman extraordinaire Matt Chapman, a former high school teammate of Arenado in Southern California. Fellow first-timers this year are A’s first baseman Matt Olson, Red Sox center fielder Jackie Bradley Jr., Pirates left fielder Corey Dickerson, Diamondbacks shortstop Nick Ahmed, and Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman.

We also had a rare tie, with Freeman sharing the first base Gold Glove in the NL with Anthony Rizzo of the Cubs. It’s just the third tie in Gold Glove history, along with 1985 in the AL outfield and 2007 in the NL outfield, both with four winners for three spots.

Three Braves won Gold Gloves, and three Red Sox won as well.

Managers and coaches account for the bulk of the Gold Glove decisions, with the only caveat that one can’t vote for someone on their own team. A sabermetric defensive index, which combines five different sources of defensive statistics, make up 25 percent of the total vote.

American League Gold Glove winners

Position Player Team Career GG
Position Player Team Career GG
C Salvador Perez Royals 5th
1B Matt Olson A's 1st
2B Ian Kinsler Angels/Red Sox 2nd
3B Matt Chapman A's 1st
SS Andrelton Simmons Angels 4th
LF Alex Gordon Royals 6th
CF Jackie Bradley Jr. Red Sox 1st
RF Mookie Betts Red Sox 3rd
P Dallas Keuchel Astros 4th