Pittsburgh pirates.v5b13ea9

PITTSBURGH PIRATES

Record: 0 - 0

Next Game

Pittsburgh Pirates @ Toronto Blue Jays

Tuesday, Mar 3, 2015, 1:07 PM EST

Florida Auto Exchange Stadium - Dunedin, FL

Buy Tickets

Getting to know your M's coaches: Andy Van Slyke

2

Not everybody gets the finger from Barry Bonds. Wait, no, I take that back. Everyone does.

Marlins morning news: Stanton takes live BP

Stanton took every pitch he saw on Thursday. Plus links on Dee Gordon and Nick Masset.

A conversation with Jim Benedict

14

A conversation with Jim Benedict

Know Your Enemy: Pittsburgh Pirates

18

The Bucs made the postseason in 2014 for the second straight year, but will have new challenges this season.

When Were You Too Old To Play?

75

In which most of you can feel old. And we can envy those who don't.

O's send LHP Steven Brault to PIT as Snider PTBNL

The Orioles completed the Travis Snider trade on Friday evening, naming minor league lefty Steven Brault, who pitched most of last year with Delmarva, as the player to be named later.

Games of Rays Past: A Legend is Born

5

September 9th, 2008, and the first most important homer in team history.

Fantasy Shortstop Rankings: Steamer Projections for 2015

+

Let's take a look at what the Steamer projections have in store for the shortstops we ranked this week.

Who will be the Yankees' backup catcher?

If John Ryan Murphy is named the backup catcher, Romine doesn't have any options left.

Rise of the bullpen: Paying middle relief

1

Free agent relievers are getting paid like never before, even if they haven't yet closed games. It won't be long before non-closers are getting extended before they reach free agency. What will...

The cost of "playing for this year": A follow up

+

Ray discusses how he approached his offseason, his trades, there were several, and some of the strategies he is pondering heading into the 2015 draft.

MockDraftArmy results: Drafting an ace early

1

Ray analyzes his MockDraftArmy draft from Thursday night, and tells you that you can draft a solid lineup of hitters if you draft an ace in the first round.

2015 Schedule

Pre-Season

March
@ Toronto Blue Jays Tuesday, March 03 2015 1:07 PM EST coverage Tickets
Toronto Blue Jays Wednesday, March 04 2015 1:05 PM EST coverage Tickets
New York Yankees Thursday, March 05 2015 1:05 PM EST coverage
Tampa Bay Rays Saturday, March 07 2015 1:05 PM EST coverage
@ Toronto Blue Jays Sunday, March 08 2015 1:07 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Minnesota Twins Monday, March 09 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Tampa Bay Rays Tuesday, March 10 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage
@ Philadelphia Phillies Wednesday, March 11 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Boston Red Sox Thursday, March 12 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Minnesota Twins Friday, March 13 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Boston Red Sox Saturday, March 14 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Baltimore Orioles Sunday, March 15 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Houston Astros Tuesday, March 17 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Detroit Tigers Wednesday, March 18 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Baltimore Orioles Thursday, March 19 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Minnesota Twins Friday, March 20 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Philadelphia Phillies Friday, March 20 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage
Boston Red Sox Saturday, March 21 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Houston Astros Sunday, March 22 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Tampa Bay Rays Monday, March 23 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage
Baltimore Orioles Tuesday, March 24 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Atlanta Braves Thursday, March 26 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Minnesota Twins Friday, March 27 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Toronto Blue Jays Saturday, March 28 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage
@ Atlanta Braves Sunday, March 29 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Philadelphia Phillies Monday, March 30 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Detroit Tigers Tuesday, March 31 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
April
@ Baltimore Orioles Wednesday, April 01 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ New York Yankees Thursday, April 02 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage
@ Philadelphia Phillies Friday, April 03 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Philadelphia Phillies Saturday, April 04 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets

Regular Season

April
@ Cincinnati Reds Monday, April 06 2015 4:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Cincinnati Reds Wednesday, April 08 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Cincinnati Reds Thursday, April 09 2015 12:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Milwaukee Brewers Friday, April 10 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Milwaukee Brewers Saturday, April 11 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Milwaukee Brewers Sunday, April 12 2015 2:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Detroit Tigers Monday, April 13 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Detroit Tigers Tuesday, April 14 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Detroit Tigers Wednesday, April 15 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Friday, April 17 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Saturday, April 18 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Sunday, April 19 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Monday, April 20 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Tuesday, April 21 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Wednesday, April 22 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Thursday, April 23 2015 12:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Arizona Diamondbacks Friday, April 24 2015 9:40 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Arizona Diamondbacks Saturday, April 25 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Arizona Diamondbacks Sunday, April 26 2015 4:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago Cubs Monday, April 27 2015 8:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago Cubs Tuesday, April 28 2015 8:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago Cubs Wednesday, April 29 2015 8:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
May
@ St. Louis Cardinals Friday, May 01 2015 8:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ St. Louis Cardinals Saturday, May 02 2015 2:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ St. Louis Cardinals Sunday, May 03 2015 2:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cincinnati Reds Tuesday, May 05 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cincinnati Reds Wednesday, May 06 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cincinnati Reds Thursday, May 07 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Friday, May 08 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Saturday, May 09 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Sunday, May 10 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Philadelphia Phillies Monday, May 11 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Philadelphia Phillies Tuesday, May 12 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Philadelphia Phillies Wednesday, May 13 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Philadelphia Phillies Thursday, May 14 2015 1:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago Cubs Friday, May 15 2015 2:20 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago Cubs Saturday, May 16 2015 4:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago Cubs Sunday, May 17 2015 2:20 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Minnesota Twins Tuesday, May 19 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Minnesota Twins Wednesday, May 20 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
New York Mets Friday, May 22 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
New York Mets Saturday, May 23 2015 4:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
New York Mets Sunday, May 24 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Miami Marlins Monday, May 25 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Miami Marlins Tuesday, May 26 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Miami Marlins Wednesday, May 27 2015 12:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ San Diego Padres Thursday, May 28 2015 10:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ San Diego Padres Friday, May 29 2015 10:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ San Diego Padres Saturday, May 30 2015 10:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ San Diego Padres Sunday, May 31 2015 12:00 PM EDT coverage Tickets
June
@ San Francisco Giants Monday, June 01 2015 10:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ San Francisco Giants Tuesday, June 02 2015 10:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ San Francisco Giants Wednesday, June 03 2015 3:45 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Atlanta Braves Friday, June 05 2015 7:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Atlanta Braves Saturday, June 06 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Atlanta Braves Sunday, June 07 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Monday, June 08 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Tuesday, June 09 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Wednesday, June 10 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Philadelphia Phillies Friday, June 12 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Philadelphia Phillies Saturday, June 13 2015 4:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Philadelphia Phillies Sunday, June 14 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago White Sox Monday, June 15 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago White Sox Tuesday, June 16 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago White Sox Wednesday, June 17 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago White Sox Thursday, June 18 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Washington Nationals Friday, June 19 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Washington Nationals Saturday, June 20 2015 4:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Washington Nationals Sunday, June 21 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cincinnati Reds Tuesday, June 23 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cincinnati Reds Wednesday, June 24 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cincinnati Reds Thursday, June 25 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Atlanta Braves Friday, June 26 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Atlanta Braves Saturday, June 27 2015 4:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Atlanta Braves Sunday, June 28 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Detroit Tigers Tuesday, June 30 2015 7:08 PM EDT coverage Tickets
July
@ Detroit Tigers Wednesday, July 01 2015 7:08 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Detroit Tigers Thursday, July 02 2015 1:08 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cleveland Indians Friday, July 03 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cleveland Indians Saturday, July 04 2015 4:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cleveland Indians Sunday, July 05 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
San Diego Padres Monday, July 06 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
San Diego Padres Tuesday, July 07 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
San Diego Padres Wednesday, July 08 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Thursday, July 09 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Friday, July 10 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Saturday, July 11 2015 4:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Sunday, July 12 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Milwaukee Brewers Friday, July 17 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Milwaukee Brewers Saturday, July 18 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Milwaukee Brewers Sunday, July 19 2015 2:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Kansas City Royals Monday, July 20 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Kansas City Royals Tuesday, July 21 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Kansas City Royals Wednesday, July 22 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Washington Nationals Thursday, July 23 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Washington Nationals Friday, July 24 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Washington Nationals Saturday, July 25 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Washington Nationals Sunday, July 26 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Minnesota Twins Tuesday, July 28 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Minnesota Twins Wednesday, July 29 2015 1:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Cincinnati Reds Thursday, July 30 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Cincinnati Reds Friday, July 31 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
August
@ Cincinnati Reds Saturday, August 01 2015 12:00 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Cincinnati Reds Sunday, August 02 2015 1:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Monday, August 03 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Tuesday, August 04 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Wednesday, August 05 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Los Angeles Dodgers Friday, August 07 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Los Angeles Dodgers Saturday, August 08 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Los Angeles Dodgers Sunday, August 09 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ St. Louis Cardinals Tuesday, August 11 2015 8:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ St. Louis Cardinals Wednesday, August 12 2015 8:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ St. Louis Cardinals Thursday, August 13 2015 7:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ New York Mets Friday, August 14 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ New York Mets Saturday, August 15 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ New York Mets Sunday, August 16 2015 1:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Arizona Diamondbacks Monday, August 17 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Arizona Diamondbacks Tuesday, August 18 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Arizona Diamondbacks Wednesday, August 19 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
San Francisco Giants Thursday, August 20 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
San Francisco Giants Friday, August 21 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
San Francisco Giants Saturday, August 22 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
San Francisco Giants Sunday, August 23 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Miami Marlins Monday, August 24 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Miami Marlins Tuesday, August 25 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Miami Marlins Wednesday, August 26 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Miami Marlins Thursday, August 27 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Colorado Rockies Friday, August 28 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Colorado Rockies Saturday, August 29 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Colorado Rockies Sunday, August 30 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
September
@ Milwaukee Brewers Tuesday, September 01 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Milwaukee Brewers Wednesday, September 02 2015 8:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Milwaukee Brewers Thursday, September 03 2015 7:20 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ St. Louis Cardinals Friday, September 04 2015 8:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ St. Louis Cardinals Saturday, September 05 2015 4:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ St. Louis Cardinals Sunday, September 06 2015 2:15 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Cincinnati Reds Monday, September 07 2015 1:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Cincinnati Reds Tuesday, September 08 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Cincinnati Reds Wednesday, September 09 2015 7:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Thursday, September 10 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Friday, September 11 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Saturday, September 12 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Milwaukee Brewers Sunday, September 13 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Tuesday, September 15 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Wednesday, September 16 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Chicago Cubs Thursday, September 17 2015 12:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Los Angeles Dodgers Friday, September 18 2015 10:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Los Angeles Dodgers Saturday, September 19 2015 9:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Los Angeles Dodgers Sunday, September 20 2015 4:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Colorado Rockies Monday, September 21 2015 8:40 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Colorado Rockies Tuesday, September 22 2015 8:40 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Colorado Rockies Wednesday, September 23 2015 8:40 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Colorado Rockies Thursday, September 24 2015 3:10 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago Cubs Friday, September 25 2015 2:20 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago Cubs Saturday, September 26 2015 12:00 PM EDT coverage Tickets
@ Chicago Cubs Sunday, September 27 2015 12:00 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Monday, September 28 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Tuesday, September 29 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
St. Louis Cardinals Wednesday, September 30 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
October
Cincinnati Reds Friday, October 02 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cincinnati Reds Saturday, October 03 2015 7:05 PM EDT coverage Tickets
Cincinnati Reds Sunday, October 04 2015 1:35 PM EDT coverage Tickets

Pittsburgh Pirates Baseball Roster

Pitchers # Pos. Age W H B T
Antonio Bastardo 59 Relief Pitcher 29 195 5-11 L L
Matt Benedict 0 Pitcher 0
A.J. Burnett 34 Starting Pitcher 38 225 6-4 R R
Gerrit Cole 45 Starting Pitcher 24 240 6-4 R R
Brandon Cumpton 30 Starting Pitcher 26 220 6-2 R R
John Holdzkom 43 Relief Pitcher 27 225 6-7 R R
Jared Hughes 48 Relief Pitcher 29 235 6-7 R R
Nick Kingham 0 Starting Pitcher 23 220 6-5 R R
Bobby LaFromboise 39 Relief Pitcher 28 215 6-4 L L
Francisco Liriano 47 Starting Pitcher 31 215 6-2 L L
Jeff Locke 49 Relief Pitcher 27 185 6-0 L L
Vin Mazzaro 32 Pitcher 28 210 6-2
Mark Melancon 35 Relief Pitcher 29 215 6-2 R R
Charlie Morton 50 Starting Pitcher 31 235 6-5 R R
Stolmy Pimentel 38 Relief Pitcher 25 230 6-3 R R
Casey Sadler 51 Relief Pitcher 24 215 6-4 R R
Rob Scahill 0 Relief Pitcher 28 220 6-2 L R
Jameson Taillon 0 Relief Pitcher 23 235 6-6 R R
Rick VandenHurk 35 Relief Pitcher 29 215 6-5 R R
Tony Watson 44 Relief Pitcher 29 220 6-4 L L
Vance Worley 46 Relief Pitcher 27 230 6-2 R R
Catchers # Pos. Age W H B T
Francisco Cervelli 0 Catcher 28 210 6-1 R R
Elias Diaz 0 Catcher 24 175 6-1 R R
Tony Sanchez 26 Catcher 26 225 5-11 R R
Chris Stewart 19 Catcher 33 215 6-4 R R
Infielders # Pos. Age W H B T
Pedro Alvarez 24 First Base 28 235 6-3 L R
Pedro Florimon 0 Short Stop 28 180 6-2 S R
Dan Gamacha 0 Third Base 0
Alen Hanson 63 Short Stop 22 152 5-11 S R
Josh Harrison 5 Third Base 27 195 5-8 R R
Corey Hart 27 First Base 32 230 6-6 R R
Jordy Mercer 10 Short Stop 28 210 6-3 R R
Justin Sellers 0 Short Stop 29 160 5-10 R R
Neil Walker 18 Second Base 29 215 6-3 S R
Outfielders # Pos. Age W H B T
Jaff Decker 14 Left Field 25 190 5-9 L L
Willy Garcia 0 Left Field 22 180 6-3 R R
Andrew Lambo 15 Left Field 26 225 6-3 L L
Starling Marte 6 Left Field 26 185 6-1 R R
Andrew McCutchen 22 Center Field 28 190 5-10 R R
Carlos Mesa 0 Left Field 0
Gregory Polanco 25 Right Field 23 220 6-4 L L
Sean Rodriguez 0 Left Field 29 200 6-0 R R
Jeff Roy 0 Left Field 0

Stats will be available when the regular season begins!

X
Log In Sign Up

If you currently have a username with "@" in it, please email support@voxmedia.com.

forgot?
forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot username?

We'll email it to you.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Try another email?

Forgot username?

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.