clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Daytona 500 Lineup: The Starting Grid Is Set For NASCAR's Super Bowl

Now that the Gatorade Duels have been completed, the starting lineup for the 2011 Daytona 500 is finally set.

Though Dale Earnhardt Jr. is technically the pole-sitter, he will drop to the back during the Daytona 500 pace laps because he wrecked his car in practice. Jeff Gordon sustained damage in his Duel race, but won't require a backup and will start second for the 500.

Kurt Busch, who won the first Gatorade Duel, will technically be the third starter but will move up to No. 1 when Earnhardt Jr. drops to the back. Duel No. 2 winner Jeff Burton will start fourth.

Regan Smith, Clint Bowyer, Kevin Harvick, Michael Waltrip, Matt Kenseth and Kyle Busch round out the top 10.

Here is the complete starting lineup for the 2011 Daytona 500:

  1. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  2. Jeff Gordon
  3. Kurt Busch
  4. Jeff Burton
  5. Regan Smith
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Michael Waltrip
  9. Matt Kenseth
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Kasey Kahne
  12. Brian Keselowski
  13. Juan Pablo Montoya
  14. Jamie McMurray
  15. AJ Allmendinger
  16. Brad Keselowski
  17. Mark Martin
  18. Denny Hamlin
  19. Paul Menard
  20. Martin Truex Jr.
  21. Ryan Newman
  22. Carl Edwards
  23. Jimmie Johnson
  24. David Reutimann
  25. Tony Stewart
  26. Greg Biffle
  27. Brian Vickers
  28. Robert Richardson Jr.
  29. Bill Elliott
  30. Robby Gordon
  31. Bobby Labonte
  32. Trevor Bayne
  33. JJ Yeley
  34. David Ragan
  35. Marcos Ambrose
  36. Steve Wallace
  37. Andy Lally
  38. Joey Logano
  39. David Gilliland
  40. Travis Kvapil
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Dave Blaney
  43. Terry Labonte