clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NASCAR Las Vegas Starting Lineup: Matt Kenseth Wins Pole Position

Matt Kenseth isn't known as being a good qualifier. But when he has power under his hood like the Fords do this year, it doesn't matter.

Kenseth won the pole for Sunday's Kobalt Tools 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, leading a strong contingent of Ford-powered cars in the starting lineup.

"We get one about every three years," Kenseth joked. "This was the most nervous I'd been for qualifying in probably five years, because I knew we had a shot at the pole. I was just praying I wouldn't be the weak link and mess it up like last week."

It was Kenseth's fifth career Sprint Cup pole.

Fords took the top four spots, with Kenseth's track record time (188.884 mph) out-pacing Marcos Ambrose (188.166), Carl Edwards and Greg Biffle.

"The first two rows are Fords, and that's a testament to how hard the guys have worked at the shop," Edwards said. "We wanted to see how we would run at this first 1.5-mile track as a test for the season, and so far, it looks really good."

Hometown favorite Kyle Busch and his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Joey Logano were next, followed by AJ Allmendinger, Ryan Newman, Martin Truex Jr. and Mark Martin – who rounded out the top 10.

Brian Keselowski failed to qualify for his second straight race after making the Daytona 500.

Here's the starting lineup for Sunday's race:


  1. Matt Kenseth
  2. Marcos Ambrose
  3. Carl Edwards
  4. Greg Biffle
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Joey Logano
  7. AJ Allmendinger
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Mark Martin
  11. Jamie McMurray
  12. Regan Smith
  13. Jeff Gordon
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Tony Stewart
  16. Trevor Bayne
  17. Denny Hamlin
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Brian Vickers
  20. Brad Keselowski
  21. Jeff Burton
  22. Kurt Busch
  23. Juan Pablo Montoya
  24. Bobby Labonte
  25. David Reutimann
  26. Kevin Harvick
  27. Casey Mears
  28. Clint Bowyer
  29. Mike Skinner
  30. Kasey Kahne
  31. Joe Nemechek
  32. JJ Yeley
  33. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  34. Dave Blaney
  35. David Gilliland
  36. Landon Cassill
  37. Bill Elliott
  38. Michael McDowell
  39. Robby Gordon
  40. Travis Kvapil
  41. Andy Lally
  42. Tony Raines
  43. David Ragan
Failed to qualify: Brian Keselowski