clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NASCAR In Las Vegas: Start Time, TV Schedule, Starting Lineup And More

Good morning from Las Vegas Motor Speedway, where the Kobalt Tools 400 is a few hours away. Here's a quick viewer's guide if you're planning on watching the NASCAR race today.

First of all, the race is scheduled to begin at 3:16 p.m. Eastern time. So if you want to avoid all the pre-race show stuff and just tune in for the race, the expected green-flag time is 3:16 (which is 12:16 p.m. local time).

The race will be televised on FOX, as are all Sprint Cup Series races through May. Las Vegas Motor Speedway officials announced a complete sellout on Saturday afternoon, which marks the 10th straight season the 1.5-mile venue has sold out.

Here are some other quick facts about the race:

National anthem: Kristen Hertzenberg, who stars in the Vegas version of Phantom of the Opera

Grand marshal: Gray Abercrombie, from race sponsor Lowe's (which owns Kobalt Tools)

Honorary starter: Dennis Knowles, from race sponsor Lowe's (which owns Kobalt Tools)

Last year's winner: Jimmie Johnson

– Pole-sitter: Matt Kenseth (188.884 mph, track record)

Distance: 400.5 miles (267 laps around the 1.5-mile track)

And here's the starting lineup for the race:

  1. Matt Kenseth
  2. Marcos Ambrose
  3. Carl Edwards
  4. Greg Biffle
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Joey Logano
  7. AJ Allmendinger
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Mark Martin
  11. Jamie McMurray
  12. Regan Smith
  13. Jeff Gordon
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Tony Stewart
  16. Trevor Bayne
  17. Denny Hamlin
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Brian Vickers
  20. Brad Keselowski
  21. Jeff Burton
  22. Kurt Busch
  23. Juan Pablo Montoya
  24. Bobby Labonte
  25. David Reutimann
  26. Kevin Harvick
  27. Casey Mears
  28. Clint Bowyer
  29. Mike Skinner
  30. Kasey Kahne
  31. Joe Nemechek
  32. JJ Yeley
  33. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  34. Dave Blaney
  35. David Gilliland
  36. Landon Cassill
  37. Bill Elliott
  38. Michael McDowell
  39. Robby Gordon
  40. Travis Kvapil
  41. Andy Lally
  42. Tony Raines
  43. David Ragan