clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Results From Texas Motor Speedway: Matt Kenseth Takes Checkered Flag

Matt Kenseth had what appeared to be the best car at Texas Motor Speedway and it paid off as he came around to take the checkered flag during Saturday night's Samsung Mobile 500. Kurt Busch was forced to pit with just 15 laps to go, clearing the way for Kenseth down the stretch. An extended green-flag run to end the race led to problems for some, including pit road problems for one potential leader.

Clint Bowyer finished second and Carl Edwards finished third, but it was all Kenseth as the race wound down. Edwards had one of the more humorous stories, saying he was all hopped up on Pepto Bismol after having stomach problems for much of the day. In a post-race interview, Edwards attributed his issues to his mother's home cooking, but had a laugh about it.

Tony Stewart also had a shot to win, but didn't have enough to make it to the checkered flag, running out of gas and finishing in 12th as the final car on the lead lap. Jeff Gordon joined him in running out of gas, finishing 24th as a result. Jimmie Johnson finished eighth and Dale Earnhardt Jr. was ninth, right in the thick of things in Texas.

Here's the full set of results from Texas:

  1. Matt Kenseth
  2. Clint Bowyer
  3. Carl Edwards
  4. Greg Biffle
  5. Paul Menard
  6. Marcos Ambrose
  7. David Ragan
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  10. Kurt Busch
  11. Jeff Burton
  12. Tony Stewart
  13. Juan Pablo Montoya
  14. Ryan Newman
  15. Denny Hamlin
  16. Kyle Busch
  17. Trevor Bayne
  18. Brad Keselowski
  19. AJ Allmendinger
  20. Kevin Harvick
  21. Kasey Kahne
  22. Jamie McMurray
  23. Jeff Gordon
  24. Joey Logano
  25. Bobby Labonte
  26. Casey Mears
  27. Brian Vickers
  28. Landon Cassill
  29. David Reutimann
  30. Dave Blaney
  31. Robby Gordon
  32. Andy Lally
  33. Ken Schrader
  34. Tony Raines
  35. Martin Truex Jr.
  36. Mark Martin
  37. Regan Smith
  38. David Starr
  39. Joe Nemechek
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. JJ Yeley
  42. David Gilliland
  43. Mike Skinner