clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

In NASCAR's Silly Season, which open seats are left?

Most full-time Sprint Cup Series teams have their driver lineups set for 2013.

Which drivers will be in the field each week during the 2013 season?
Which drivers will be in the field each week during the 2013 season?
Chris Graythen

A year ago at this time, dominoes seemed to be tumbling all over the NASCAR world.

Kurt Busch's departure from Penske Racing led to AJ Allmendinger's move from Richard Petty Motorsports to Penske, followed by Aric Almirola's move to replace Allmendinger at RPM.

Meanwhile, Darian Grubb was fired as Tony Stewart's crew chief and replaced the fired Mike Ford at Joe Gibbs Racing, and Steve Addington left Penske to crew chief for Stewart.

It seemed like there was a move or two every day, and the news was endless.

This year?

Not so much.

Aside from a couple lower-series moves (Brian Scott to Richard Childress Racing's Nationwide team, for example), there haven't been many post-Homestead driver changes.

RPM re-upped with Almirola and Marcos Ambrose on the final weekend of the season, Front Row Motorsports announced last week it would keep all three of its current drivers – David Ragan, David Gilliland and Josh Wise – and even an ownership change at Inception Motorsports (now Swan Racing) didn't result in any driver movement (David Stremme will still race the No. 30 car).

In that case, what's left? Moves like Matt Kenseth to JGR and Joey Logano to Penske were announced long ago, and incoming rookies Danica Patrick and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. are the only new drivers.

Here's a team-by-team look at the changes for 2013, if any:

Filled seats at full-time teams

Hendrick Motorsports

No changes. Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, Kasey Kahne and Dale Earnhardt Jr. will all return.

Roush Fenway Racing

Matt Kenseth left for JGR and will be replaced in the No. 17 car by Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Greg Biffle and Carl Edwards return.

Joe Gibbs Racing

Kenseth's arrival meant there was no spot for Joey Logano, who went to Penske Racing. Kyle Busch and Denny Hamlin return.

Richard Childress Racing

No changes. Kevin Harvick, Jeff Burton and Paul Menard will all return for 2013, though Harvick is reportedly leaving for Stewart-Haas Racing after the season.

Michael Waltrip Racing

No changes. Martin Truex Jr. and Clint Bowyer will race for the championship and the team's third car will again be split by Mark Martin, Brian Vickers and Michael Waltrip.

Stewart-Haas Racing

Danica Patrick will join the team on a full-time basis next season. Tony Stewart and Ryan Newman return.

Penske Racing

Joey Logano replaces AJ Allmendinger/Sam Hornish Jr. in the No. 22 car. Hornish will drive select Cup races. Brad Keselowski returns.

Earnhardt Ganassi Racing

No changes. Juan Pablo Montoya and Jamie McMurray return.

Richard Petty Motorsports

No changes. Aric Almirola and Marcos Ambrose return.

JTG Daugherty Racing

No changes. Bobby Labonte returns.

Furniture Row Racing

Kurt Busch replaces Regan Smith, who will race full-time in the Nationwide Series for JR Motorsports.

Front Row Motorsports

No changes. David Ragan, David Gilliland and Josh Wise all return.

Germain Racing

No changes. Casey Mears returns.

Swan Racing (formerly Inception Motorsports)

No changes. David Stremme returns.

NEMCO Motorsports

No changes. Joe Nemechek drives for his own team.

Possible open seats at full-time teams

BK Racing

There's no reason Landon Cassill and Travis Kvapil wouldn't return to BK Racing in 2013, but the team hasn't finalized its drivers for the Nos. 83 and 93 cars yet.

Tommy Baldwin Racing

It seems likely Dave Blaney will return next season, but it hasn't been announced.

Phil Parsons Racing

Will Michael McDowell return to the No. 98 car? It hasn't been made official yet if so.

FAS Lane Racing

Ken Schrader will be in the No. 32 car for select races, and the remaining schedule will be filled by yet-to-be-named drivers.

Joe Falk Motorsports

Stephen Leicht won rookie of the year honors for the No. 33 car. The team's 2013 lineup has not been announced.

Phoenix Racing

Will Phoenix Racing even come back in 2013? It's not certain team owner James Finch will return, and what driver will be behind the wheel if he does.