clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Daytona 500 2012 Qualifying Results: Carl Edwards, Greg Biffle Claim Front Row

Winning the pole position for next Sunday's running of the Daytona 500 likely won't do much to take away Carl Edwards' pain of a close Sprint Cup Series championship loss last season.

But it can't hurt, either.

Edwards will start from the top spot for the 2012 Daytona 500 alongside Roush Fenway Racing teammate Greg Biffle. Last year's Chase runner-up turned a lap of 194.738 mph, just ahead of Biffle's 194.087. That amounts to one tenth of a second.

"This is amazing," Edwards said. "... Coming down here, I didn't really consider the pole as something that was a possibility, so this is huge."

"We're so excited to have two of our cars on the front row," Biffle said. "A team effort all around."

The pole win marked Edwards' first in the Daytona 500 and 12th overall for manufacturer Ford. It's the second pole for team owner Jack Roush.

But Sunday's session wasn't all about the front row. Four drivers without guaranteed spots heading into Speedweeks were given locked-in positions as a result of their fast times.

Defending Daytona 500 champion Trevor Bayne was the fastest among those, and he'll be joined by Tony Raines and David Stremme. In addition, Terry Labonte is in the field thanks to a past champion's provisional.

Here are the qualifying results – note: NOT the starting lineup -- from Daytona 500 qualifying (non-guaranteed drivers in bold):

  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  4. Marcos Ambrose
  5. Casey Mears
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  9. Trevor Bayne * (clinched berth in Daytona 500)
  10. Tony Stewart
  11. Mark Martin
  12. Jimmie Johnson
  13. Aric Almirola
  14. Paul Menard
  15. David Ragan
  16. Matt Kenseth
  17. Ryan Newman
  18. AJ Allmendinger
  19. Brad Keselowski
  20. Kevin Harvick
  21. Joey Logano
  22. Clint Bowyer
  23. Jeff Burton
  24. Juan Pablo Montoya
  25. Kasey Kahne
  26. Tony Raines * (clinched berth in Daytona 500)
  27. David Stremme * (clinched berth in Daytona 500)
  28. Kyle Busch
  29. Jamie McMurray
  30. Danica Patrick
  31. Kenny Wallace
  32. Terry Labonte * (guaranteed spot via past champion's provisional)
  33. Dave Blaney
  34. Kurt Busch
  35. Elliott Sadler
  36. Michael Waltrip
  37. Joe Nemechek
  38. Denny Hamlin
  39. Regan Smith
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. Landon Cassill
  42. David Gilliland
  43. Bobby Labonte
  44. Bill Elliott
  45. Mike Wallace
  46. David Reutimann
  47. Robert Richardson Jr.
  48. Robby Gordon
  49. JJ Yeley