clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Kansas Starting Lineup 2012: STP 400 Qualifying Results

AJ Allmendinger won his second career pole position on Saturday at Kansas Speedway, claiming the top spot in qualifying for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series STP 400 at the 1.5-mile track.

Allmendinger (175.993) had won the pole just one other time in the previous 159 races of his career, in April 2010 at Phoenix International Raceway.

"Obviously Sunday is the important day, but more than anything, we're just trying to build momentum," Allmendinger told SPEED after his lap. "Hopefully we'll have a good 400 miles tomorrow."

Kevin Harvick missed out on a chance at his first pole since 2006 by qualifying second (175.747 mph), and he was followed by Joey Logano and Denny Hamlin.

Another pair of teammates, Michael Waltrip Racing's Mark Martin and Martin Truex Jr., completed the top six, followed by Dale Earnhardt Jr., Clint Bowyer, Kasey Kahne and Sam Hornish Jr.

Tim Andrews, Jeff Green, Tony Raines failed to qualify for the race and were sent home.

Here's the starting lineup for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway:

  1. AJ Allmendinger
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Mark Martin
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Sam Hornish Jr.
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Jeff Burton
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Kurt Busch
  15. Jimmie Johnson
  16. David Reutimann
  17. Greg Biffle
  18. Matt Kenseth
  19. Paul Menard
  20. Jeff Gordon
  21. David Gilliland
  22. Carl Edwards
  23. Tony Stewart
  24. David Stremme
  25. Kyle Busch
  26. Aric Almirola
  27. David Ragan
  28. Marcos Ambrose
  29. Regan Smith
  30. Bobby Labonte
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Dave Blaney
  34. Travis Kvapil
  35. Scott Riggs
  36. Jamie McMurray
  37. Michael McDowell
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Juan Pablo Montoya
  40. Casey Mears
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Reed Sorenson
  43. Mike Bliss
DNQ: Tim Andrews, Jeff Green, Tony Raines