clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Richmond 2012 Starting Lineup: Mark Martin Takes Top Qualifying Spot

Mark Martin may only be a part-timer this season, but his cars are certainly fast every time he shows up.

The veteran Martin won the pole position for Saturday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Richmond International Raceway, knocking off Carl Edwards as the final car to take a qualifying lap.

Edwards was second, followed by Kevin Harvick, AJ Allmendinger and Kyle Busch, who has won the last three Richmond spring races.

"Man, that was dramatic for me," Edwards said. "I thought we had him, and then he shot up to the top of the scoreboard."

Rounding out the top 10: Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Martin Truex Jr., Kasey Kahne and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Scott Riggs and J.J. Yeley failed to qualify for the race and were sent home.

Here is the starting lineup for Saturday night's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Richmond International Raceway:

  1. Mark Martin
  2. Carl Edwards
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. AJ Allmendinger
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Denny Hamlin
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  11. Aric Almirola
  12. Ryan Newman
  13. Kurt Busch
  14. Marcos Ambrose
  15. Regan Smith
  16. Brad Keselowski
  17. Dave Blaney
  18. Joey Logano
  19. Bobby Labonte
  20. Juan Pablo Montoya
  21. Landon Cassill
  22. Tony Stewart
  23. Clint Bowyer
  24. Matt Kenseth
  25. Michael McDowell
  26. Casey Mears
  27. Jimmie Johnson
  28. Greg Biffle
  29. Travis Kvapil
  30. Jeff Burton
  31. Paul Menard
  32. Josh Wise
  33. David Reutimann
  34. David Stremme
  35. Joe Nemechek
  36. Scott Speed
  37. Jamie McMurray
  38. David Ragan
  39. Mike Bliss
  40. Stephen Leicht
  41. Stacy Compton
  42. David Gilliland
  43. Reed Sorenson
DNQ: Scott Riggs, J.J. Yeley