clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Indy 500 2012: Start Time, TV Schedule, Live Updates And More

It's race day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with the 2012 Indy 500 set to begin. Ryan Briscoe will start on the pole, joined by James Hinchcliffe and Ryan Hunter-Reay on the first row.

In all, nine of the first 10 spots on the grid are occupied by drivers running with Chevrolet engines. Team Penske and Andretti Autosport are well represented on the first two rows. Briscoe leads the way for Team Penske with teammates Will Power and Helio Castroneves starting in row two. Hinchcliffe and Hunter-Reay represent Andretti Autosport on the first row, while Marco Andrettti starts on the inside of row two.

The field includes three former Indy 500 winners. In addition to three-time champion Castroneves, 2008 winner Scott Dixon will start on row five while two-time winner Dario Franchitti will start on row six.

More on the technology being used to broadcast the Indy 500 this year.

The 2012 Indy 500 is set to begin shortly after noon ET on ABC. Cars will roll off the grid for pace laps at 12:04 p.m., followed by the green flag at 12:12 p.m.

For more updates on the Indy 500, stay tuned to this StoryStream. For more on Indy racing, including the 2012 Indianapolis 500, please visit Pop Off Valve.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube