clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Indy 500 Results And Finishing Order: Dario Franchitti Edges Teammate Scott Dixon For 3rd Win

After more than three hours of racing at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Dario Franchitti is your winner of the 96th Indianapolis 500. Franchitti overtook teammate Scott Dixon in a wild final five laps. He held off Takuma Sato to cross the line for his third Indy 500 win.

The Andretti drought continued on Sunday when Marco Andretti crashed with just 11 laps remaining. Andretti went across the track and crashed into the wall after losing control The Andretti family has not won the Indy 500 since 1969, when Mario clinched it. Marco's crash forced the seventh caution of the race which lasted until there were seven laps to go.

Franchitti then overtook Tony Kanaan with the resumption of green-flag racing at the seven lap mark. Franchitti and teammate Scott Dixon exchanged the lead over the final five laps, with Dixon relinquishing second place to Takuma Sato with two laps to go. Sato was too eager and tried to pass Franchitti on the inside but got too low and spun out across the track, forcing a yellow flag. With the caution up, Franchitti cruised across for his third Indy 500 win.

Franchitti came all the way from last place at the first stop for the remarkable win. A Chip Gannasi car placed second as well, as Dixon passed Sato to finish behind his teammate. It's the seventh time an owner has finished 1-2 at the Indy 500. The full 2012 Indy 500 order of finish:

1. Dario Franchitti
2. Scott Dixon
3. Tony Kanaan
4. Oriol Servia
5. Ryan Briscoe
6. James Hinchcliffe
7. Justin Wilson
8. Charlie Kimball
9. Townsend Bell
10. Helio Castroneves
11. Rubens Barrichello
12. Alex Tagliani
13. Graham Rahal
14. JR Hildebrand
15. James Jakes
16. Simon Pagenaud
17. Takuma Sato
18. E.J. Viso
19. Michel Jourdain Jr.
20. Sebastien Bourdais
21. Ed Carpenter
22. Katherine Legge
23. Ana Beatriz
24. Marco Andretti
25. Josef Newgarden
26. Sebastian Saavedra
27. Ryan Hunter-Reay
28. Will Power
29. Mike Conway
30. Bryan Clauson
31. Wade Cunningham
32. Simona De Silvestro
33. Jean Alesi

For more updates on the Indy 500, stay tuned to this StoryStream. For more on Indy racing, including the 2012 Indianapolis 500, please visit Pop Off Valve.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube