clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Michigan Starting Lineup 2012: Marcos Ambrose Wins Pole For Sunday's Race

Marcos Ambrose used the fastest NASCAR qualifying lap in 25 years to win the pole for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Michigan, posting an average speed of 203.241 mph to take the No. 1 qualifying spot.

Ambrose will lead the starting lineup ahead of Kevin Harvick (202.037 mph), Greg Biffle, Kasey Kahne and Ryan Newman.

The pole was the first of Ambrose's career and came on a weekend where NASCAR has seen record speeds for a non-restrictor-plate track. No one had ever posted a 200 mph qualifying lap at a track other than Daytona and Talladega, and the last time NASCAR saw a 200 mph lap was at Talladega in 1987 – before the engines were restricted.

Matt Kenseth, Trevor Bayne, Tony Stewart, Joey Logano and Jimmie Johnson rounded out the top 10.

David Stremme and Stacy Compton failed to qualify for the race.

Here's the starting lineup for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Michigan:

  1. Marcos Ambrose
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Greg Biffle
  4. Kasey Kahne
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Matt Kenseth
  7. Trevor Bayne
  8. Tony Stewart
  9. Joey Logano
  10. Jimmie Johnson
  11. Denny Hamlin
  12. Regan Smith
  13. Clint Bowyer
  14. Mark Martin
  15. Aric Almirola
  16. Martin Truex Jr.
  17. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. AJ Allmendinger
  21. Juan Pablo Montoya
  22. Austin Dillon
  23. Scott Riggs
  24. Casey Mears
  25. Brad Keselowski
  26. Kurt Busch
  27. Michael McDowell
  28. Jeff Gordon
  29. Mike Bliss
  30. Josh Wise
  31. Bobby Labonte
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Jeff Burton
  34. Kyle Busch
  35. David Gilliland
  36. Dave Blaney
  37. Joe Nemechek
  38. David Ragan
  39. Travis Kvapil
  40. Ken Schrader
  41. Tony Raines
  42. Carl Edwards
  43. JJ Yeley
DNQ: David Stremme, Stacy Compton.