clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Sonoma Starting Lineup 2012: Marcos Ambrose Wins Pole Position

Marcos Ambrose has made it two in a row.

One week after posting a record 203 mph lap around Michigan, Ambrose was one of only two drivers to top 95 mph at Sonoma and won the pole for Sunday's Sprint Cup Series race at the Northern California road course.

Ambrose said Friday's lap at Sonoma was "more intense" than his record-breaking lap last week.

"I don't know if I got it all, but I got a lot of it," Ambrose said.

Amazingly, Ambrose had never won a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series pole through his first 133 career races, but has now won two in a row.

After Ambrose, it was Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Greg Biffle and Clint Bowyer rounding out the top five.

Gordon said he was pleased to be so close to Ambrose, since the latter driver has been a monster on road courses lately.

"Best lap I've had here in a number of years," said Gordon, who was the last to go out for qualifying and nearly caught Ambrose.

Clint Bowyer, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Matt Kenseth and Ryan Newman completed the top 10. Last week's winner, Dale Earnhardt Jr., will start 19th.

Only one car failed to qualify for the race. Brian Simo, who was driving the car typically raced by David Stremme, missed the race.

Here's the starting lineup for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Sonoma:

  1. Marcos Ambrose
  2. Jeff Gordon
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Greg Biffle
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Matt Kenseth
  10. Carl Edwards
  11. Ryan Newman
  12. Juan Pablo Montoya
  13. Brad Keselowski
  14. Joey Logano
  15. Kasey Kahne
  16. Denny Hamlin
  17. AJ Allmendinger
  18. Bobby Labonte
  19. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  20. Casey Mears
  21. Brian Vickers
  22. Scott Speed
  23. Paul Menard
  24. Tony Stewart
  25. Jamie McMurray
  26. Kevin Harvick
  27. David Gilliland
  28. Boris Said
  29. David Ragan
  30. Aric Almirola
  31. Regan Smith
  32. Dave Blaney
  33. David Mayhew
  34. Robby Gordon
  35. Jeff Burton
  36. Joe Nemechek
  37. Chris Cook
  38. JJ Yeley
  39. Travis Kvapil
  40. Josh Wise
  41. Tomy Drissi
  42. Landon Cassill
  43. Stephen Leicht
DNQ: Brian Simo