clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Sonoma Results 2012: Clint Bowyer Beats Tony Stewart, Kurt Busch

Clint Bowyer held off charging Tony Stewart to win Sunday's Toyota/Save Mart 350 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race in a green-white-checkered-flag finish that took the event two laps past its scheduled distance of 110 laps.

The victory was Bowyer's first of the year and the sixth of his career. Stewart passed Kurt Busch for the second position after the final restart and finished .829 seconds behind Bowyer's No. 15 Toyota. Busch held the third spot, followed by Brian Vickers and Jimmie Johnson.

Jeff Gordon, Greg Biffle, pole-sitter Marcos Ambrose, AJ Allmendinger and Joey Logano completed the top 10 in a race that began with a record green-flag run of 82 laps and featured a record-low two cautions.

Bowyer did a majestic job of driving in the closing laps to hold off Busch, who harried him lap after lap until Busch's tires gave up with 10 laps left. Bowyer pulled away to a lead of more than one second before Kyle Busch and Paul Menard spun in Turn 7 to cause the second caution.

Bowyer and Kurt Busch restarted on old tires at Lap 111, with Stewart taking the green flag on fresher rubber, having pitted under the first caution of the race with 27 laps left. Stewart was able to overtake Kurt Busch but couldn't catch Bowyer over the final two green-flag laps.

Here are the race results for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Sonoma:

  1. Clint Bowyer
  2. Tony Stewart
  3. Kurt Busch
  4. Brian Vickers
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Greg Biffle
  8. Marcos Ambrose
  9. AJ Allmendinger
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Jeff Burton
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Matt Kenseth
  14. Kasey Kahne
  15. Casey Mears
  16. Kevin Harvick
  17. Kyle Busch
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. Paul Menard
  21. Carl Edwards
  22. Martin Truex Jr.
  23. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  24. Bobby Labonte
  25. Scott Speed
  26. David Gilliland
  27. David Ragan
  28. Aric Almirola
  29. Boris Said
  30. Josh Wise
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. Regan Smith
  33. JJ Yeley
  34. Juan Pablo Montoya
  35. Denny Hamlin
  36. Travis Kvapil
  37. Dave Blaney
  38. Tomy Drissi
  39. Robby Gordon
  40. David Mayhew
  41. Stephen Leicht
  42. Chris Cook
  43. Joe Nemechek