clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Chicago 2015: Lineup, starting grid for 400

Kevin Harvick has the pole position for the start of The Chase for the Sprint Cup on Sunday afternoon with the 400 at Chicagoland Speedway in Joliet, Ill., the opening of the NASCAR playoffs.

Rain washed away qualifying on Friday, but Harvick was awarded the pole based on having the fastest morning practice speed of 188.317 mph. Harvick, who won at Chicagoland in 2001 and 2002, was a two-time winner during the 2015 NASCAR regular season.

Brad Keselowski, like Harvick a two-time winner at Chicagoland, starts third on Sunday.

There were three four-time winners this season. Kyle Busch starts in eighth position; he won the 400 in 2008. Matt Kenseth, who won at Chicagoland in 2013, starts 12th on Sunday. Jimmie Johnson, who has never won this race but is a six-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, starts in 11th position on Sunday.

Jeff Gordon, in his final run for a NASCAR title, starts 10th on Sunday. He won at Chicagoland in 2006.

Of the 16 drivers vying in The Chase, Denny Hamlin has the worst starting position on Sunday, starting in 29th position.

NBCSN will provide pre-race coverage at 2:30 p.m. ET, with race coverage beginning at 3 p.m. and the green flag at 3:16 p.m. Rick Allen will call the race alongside analysts Jeff Burton and Steve Letarte, with pit reporters Marty Snider, Mike Massaro and Kelli Stavast. Nate Ryan and Rutledge Wood will also be a part of the NBCSN broadcast as well. 400 starting grid

Position Driver Make
1 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet
2 Joey Logano Ford
3 Brad Keselowski Ford
4 Martin Truex, Jr. Chevrolet
5 Austin Dillon Chevrolet
6 Ryan Newman Chevrolet
7 Kyle Busch Toyota
8 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet
9 Kurt Busch Chevrolet
10 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet
11 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet
12 Matt Kenseth Toyota
13 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet
14 Carl Edwards Toyota
15 AJ Allmendinger Chevrolet
16 Paul Menard Chevrolet
17 Greg Biffle Ford
18 Kyle Larson Chevrolet
19 Dale Earnhardt, Jr. Chevrolet
20 Aric Almirola Ford
21 Brian Scott Chevrolet
22 Sam Hornish, Jr. Ford
23 Tony Stewart Chevrolet
24 Casey Mears Chevrolet
25 Danica Patrick Chevrolet
26 Clint Bowyer Toyota
27 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Chevrolet
28 David Ragan Toyota
29 Denny Hamilin Toyota
30 Trevor Bayne Ford
31 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet
32 Alex Bowman Chevrolet
33 Cole Whitt Ford
34 JJ Yeley Toyota
35 David Gilliland Ford
36 Landon Cassill Chevrolet
37 Michael Annett Chevrolet
38 Brett Moffittt Ford
39 Matt DiBenedetto Toyota
40 Josh Wise Ford
41 Jeb Burton Toyota
42 Reed Sorenson Ford
43 Timmy Hill Chevrolet
Bold = Qualified for The Chase