clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Talladega 2016 qualifying results: Martin Truex Jr. wins pole after parts seized from car

Truex’s pole-winning lap came after NASCAR confiscated parts of his car during technical inspection.

Ignoring questions about the legality of his car, Martin Truex Jr. won the pole Saturday for the second round Chase for the Sprint Cup elimination race Sunday at Talladega Superspeedway.

Truex's lap of 193.423 mph bested second-place qualifier Brad Keselowski (193.365 mph), followed by Matt Kenseth, Chase Elliott and Greg Biffle. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Kurt Busch, Denny Hamlin, Austin Dillon and Paul Menard rounded out the top 10.

Prior to qualifying, NASCAR confiscated a left-front jack screw off Truex's car. He could face a potential points penalty, though NASCAR senior vice president of competition Scott Miller said it was "unlikely." Any penalties would likely be announced mid-week.

"All the crazy talk going on today is nonsense," Truex said. "I think people speculate on things and don't really know what they are. The jack bolt issue is really not a big issue."

Truex's car wasn't alone in getting close scrutiny, as the Joe Gibbs Racing Toyotas of Kyle Busch, Kenseth and Hamlin were all pulled from the qualifying line on pit road and required to go through inspection an additional time before making a qualifying attempt. All three cars passed inspection.

David Gilliland was the only driver failing to qualify among the 41 entrants.


Position Driver Make Speed
1 Martin Truex, Jr. Toyota 193.423
2 Brad Keselowski Ford 193.365
3 Matt Kenseth Toyota 193.189
4 Chase Elliott Chevrolet 193.166
5 Greg Biffle Ford 193.123
6 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Ford 192.975
7 Kurt Busch Chevrolet 192.746
8 Denny Hamlin Toyota 192.610
9 Austin Dillon Chevrolet 192.177
10 Paul Menard Chevrolet 192.123
11 Trevor Bayne Ford 192.039
12 Reed Sorenson Toyota 188.300
13 Carl Edwards Toyota 192.131
14 Kyle Busch Toyota 192.039
15 Ryan Blaney Ford 192.039
16 Joey Logano Ford 192.012
17 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 191.704
18 Ryan Reed Ford 191.700
19 Alex Bowman Chevrolet 191.627
20 Ryan Newman Chevrolet 191.466
21 Tony Stewart Chevrolet 190.962
22 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 190.768
23 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 190.393
24 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 190.162
25 Brian Scott Ford 190.026
26 Aric Almirola Ford 190.004
27 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 189.891
28 Casey Mears Chevrolet 189.755
29 Regan Smith Chevrolet 189.688
30 Danica Patrick Chevrolet 189.643
31 Landon Cassill Ford 189.612
32 A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet 189.515
33 Chris Buescher Ford 189.242
34 Michael McDowell Chevrolet 188.775
35 Matt DiBenedetto Toyota 188.419
36 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet 188.086
37 Michael Annett Chevrolet 187.993
38 Bobby Labonte Ford 187.368
39 Jeffrey Earnhardt Toyota 186.765
40 David Ragan Toyota 186.358