clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Can-Am Duel at Daytona 2016: Format and starting grid

Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

The build-up to the Daytona 500 reaches a fever pitch on Thursday night with a pair of qualifying races, the 2016 Can-Am Duels from Daytona International Speedway.

The pair of 60-lap, 150-mile races on Thursday night will determine the top 32 starting positions for Sunday's Daytona 500. In traditional qualifying on Sunday, NASCAR rookie Chase Elliott won the pole position for Sunday's race, with Matt Kenseth locking in the second position.

Kenseth won the Daytona 500 in 2009 and 2012, capturing a Can-Am Duel race in 2012 and 2014.

Sunday's qualifying also gives Elliott and Kenseth No. 1 position on Thursday in the first and second Can-Am Duel, respectively. The top 15 finishers of the first race, not counting Elliott, will take the inside positions on Sunday, odd-numbered spots three through 31. The top 15 finishers in the second race, not including Kenseth, will take the outside spots in even-numbered positions four through 32.

After the top 32 spots, the next four spots will be filled by the highest qualifying speeds from Sunday among remaining drivers.

Fox Sports 1 will televise Thursday's Can-Am Duels with pre-race coverage beginning at 5 p.m. ET. Race coverage begins at 7 p.m., with play-by-play announcer Mike Joy alongside analysts Darrell Waltrip and Larry McReynolds.

Can-Am Duel No. 1 starting lineup

Position Driver Car
1 Chase Elliott Chevrolet
2 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet
3 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford
4 Ryan Blaney Ford
5 Austin Dillon Chevrolet
6 Denny Hamlin Toyota
7 Joey Logano Ford
8 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet
9 Paul Menard Chevrolet
10 Brad Keselowski Ford
11 Greg Biffle Ford
12 Brian Scott Ford
13 Michael McDowell Chevrolet
14 Regan Smith Chevrolet
15 Chris Buescher Ford
16 Bobby Labonte Ford
17 Trevor Bayne Ford
18 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet
19 Cole Whitt Toyota
20 David Ragan Toyota
21 Josh Wise Chevrolet
22 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet

Can-Am Duel No. 2 starting lineup

Position Driver Car
1 Matt Kenseth Toyota
2 Kyle Busch Toyota
3 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet
4 Carl Edwards Toyota
5 Kurt Busch Chevrolet
6 Casey Mears Chevrolet
7 Ryan Newman Chevrolet
8 Ty Dillon Chevrolet
9 Aric Almirola Ford
10 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet
11 Kyle Larson Chevrolet
12 Michael DiBenedetto Toyota
13 Michael Waltrip Toyota
14 Danica Patrick Chevrolet
15 A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet
16 Michael Annett Chevrolet
17 Landon Cassill Ford
18 Robert Richardson Jr. Toyota
19 David Gilliland Ford
20 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet
21 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota
22 Brian Vickers Chevrolet