clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Daytona 500 results: Full finishing order

Denny Hamlin won the most exciting Daytona 500 finish in race history on Sunday.

Denny Hamlin won the closest Daytona 500 in history Sunday, rallying from fourth place on the final lap to beat Martin Truex Jr. in a photo finish by just one-hundredth of a second. It was a fitting finish for a driver who also led the most laps for the day, 95.

Kyle Busch, who led 19 laps, placed third to complete a Toyota sweep of the top spots. Hamlin and Busch both drive for Joe Gibbs Racing, while Truex's single-car Furniture Row team has a technical alliance with JGR.

Kevin Harvick and Carl Edwards rounded out the top five.  Edwards' finish was all the more remarkable given the torn-up state of the front right side of his car following damage sustained earlier in the race.

Defending Daytona 500 champion Joey Logano placed sixth.

After starting the race at the back of the pack due to a wreck Thursday during the Can-Am Duels, Matt Kenseth led from the 160th lap until the final turn. However, he gave up his position when he moved up the track to block Hamlin. Kenseth got a little loose, dinged Hamlin and briefly touched the wall. He finished 14th and led 40 laps for the day.

Get Set for the New Season

On the other end of the spectrum, the day was a bit of a struggle for Hendricks Motorsports. Chase Elliott -- taking over the driver's seat for the No. 24 team after the retirement of Jeff Gordon -- opened on the pole after a fast qualifying a week earlier, but made it just 18 laps before getting loose while racing three wide. Elliott's splitter was caught on the infield grass and tore up the front of the car. He returned later to finish 37th.

Teammate Dale Earnhardt, Jr., was running fourth on Lap 169 when he attempted to make a move, but lost control and tore up his car. He finished 36th. Kasey Kahne finished 13th for Hendricks' best, with Jimmie Johnson 16th.

Stewart-Haas Racing found some mixed results. Kevin Harvick finished in fourth and Kurt Busch 10th, but Brian Vickers, driving the No. 14 car in place of the injured Tony Stewart, and Danica Patrick suffered separate incidents. Vickers finished 26th, and Patrick 35th.

Daytona 500 full finishing order (unofficial)

1 Denny Hamlin 200 95
2 Martin Truex Jr. 200 2
3 Kyle Busch 200 19
4 Kevin Harvick 200
5 Carl Edwards 200
6 Joey Logano 200
7 Kyle Larson 200
8 Regan Smith 200
9 Austin Dillon 200 1
10 Kurt Busch 200
11 Ryan Newman 200 1
12 Aric Almirola 200
13 Kasey Kahne 200
14 Matt Kenseth 200 40
15 Michael McDowell 200
16 Jimmie Johnson 200 18
17 Jamie McMurray 200
18 Paul Menard 200
19 Ryan Blaney 200
20 Brad Keselowski 200 1
21 AJ Allmendinger 200
22 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 200
23 Landon Cassill 200
24 Brian Scott 200 1
25 Ty Dillon 200
26 Brian Vickers 200
27 Michael Annett 200 1
28 Trevor Bayne 200
29 David Ragan 200 1
30 Michael Waltrip 200 1
31 Bobby Labonte 200 1
32 Casey Mears 199
33 Clint Bowyer 199
34 Greg Biffle 198
35 Danica Patrick 184
36 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 169 15
37 Chase Elliott 160 3
38 Robert Richardson Jr. 135
39 Chris Buescher 91
40 Matt DiBenedetto 91