clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NASCAR Richmond 2016 results: Full finishing order for Federated Auto Parts 400

In addition to Hamlin winning, four drivers -- Chris Buescher, Chase Elliott, Austin Dillon and Jamie McMurray -- clinched Chase berths.

While Denny Hamlin picked up his third victory, Chris Buescher, Chase Elliott, Austin Dillon and Jamie McMurray all secured their spots in NASCAR's Chase for the Sprint Cup playoff in Saturday night's regular season finale.

Hamlin started on the pole and had the better car for much of the evening, but needed a good restart with two laps remaining to solidify the win. He achieved that by building up enough of a cushion to withstand a furious charge from Kyle Larson, who restarted 12th on fresher tires but ran out time to catch Hamlin.

"Just a great restart," Hamlin said. "I think that was key for us, is to get into turn one cleared and did everything we needed to do to win the race. So glad we didn't let it slip away. It would have definitely hurt to let it slip away on the last restart if we would have."

It was Hamlin's third Richmond win, the track located in his native Virginia. Martin Truex placed third, with Brad Keselowski fourth and Kevin Harvick fifth. Kasey Kahne, who needed a win to qualify for the Chase, finished sixth followed by McMurray, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch and Joey Logano completing the top 10.

"I see all the extra Denny Hamlin shirts and hats and everything and fires me up every time I get here," Hamlin said.

A track-record 16 cautions slowed the race. The biggest incident of the night saw Ryan Newman and Tony Stewart tangle, triggering a multi-car crash that culminated with Dylan Lupton's car sitting atop Newman's and wedged against the outside wall. NASCAR red flagged the race 20 minutes to clear the three-quarter mile track.

Later, an upset Newman sounded off on Stewart, calling the soon-to-be retiring three-time series champion old and someone dealing with anger management issues. The crash assured Newman, who entered Richmond as the first driver just outside the Chase cutoff, would not make the postseason.

"Going down the back straightaway there, I guess he thought he was in a sprint car again -- did not know how to control his anger," Newman said. "It's just disappointing that you've got somebody old like that, that should be retired the way he drives. It's just ridiculous."

Buescher needed just a decent result to maintain a spot inside the top 30 in points, therefore advancing to the Chase. Despite several close calls, including getting swept into the Newman-Stewart kerfuffle, the rookie finished 24th and will be among the 16 drivers championship-eligible when the playoffs begin next weekend at Chicagoland Speedway.

Also locking up their spots were Elliott, Dillon and McMurray all of whom were winless during the regular season, but transferred based off their points ranking. Buescher earned eligibility with a surprise weather-shortened win Aug. 1 at Pocono Raceway.

"It was a crazy race," Buescher said. "I can't believe how many cautions we had. "We got involved in one of the accidents, had a tire go down, just a very eventful day."


Position Start Driver Make Laps Status Led
1 1 Denny Hamlin Toyota 407 Running 189
2 2 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 407 Running 15
3 6 Martin Truex, Jr. Toyota 407 Running 193
4 17 Brad Keselowski Ford 407 Running 0
5 19 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 407 Running 0
6 7 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 407 Running 0
7 4 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 407 Running 0
8 5 Kurt Busch Chevrolet 407 Running 3
9 9 Kyle Busch Toyota 407 Running 0
10 12 Joey Logano Ford 407 Running 0
11 10 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 407 Running 0
12 27 Michael McDowell Chevrolet 407 Running 0
13 8 Austin Dillon Chevrolet 407 Running 0
14 18 Trevor Bayne Ford 407 Running 0
15 29 Danica Patrick Chevrolet 407 Running 0
16 11 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet 407 Running 0
17 23 Aric Almirola Ford 407 Running 0
18 22 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Ford 407 Running 0
19 34 Chase Elliott Chevrolet 407 Running 0
20 16 A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet 407 Running 0
21 26 Casey Mears Chevrolet 407 Running 0
22 33 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet 407 Running 0
23 28 Greg Biffle Ford 407 Running 0
24 31 Chris Buescher Ford 407 Running 0
25 39 Dylan Lupton Toyota 406 Running 0
26 38 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet 404 Running 0
27 40 Jeffrey Earnhardt Ford 403 Running 2
28 15 Ryan Newman Chevrolet 402 Running 0
29 24 Regan Smith Chevrolet 397 Crash 2
30 36 Josh Wise Chevrolet 396 Running 0
31 37 Michael Annett Chevrolet 390 Running 0
32 13 Carl Edwards Toyota 366 Suspension 0
33 14 Tony Stewart Chevrolet 363 Crash 0
34 21 David Ragan Toyota 362 Crash 0
35 35 Brian Scott Ford 362 Crash 0
36 32 Landon Cassill Ford 358 Running 0
37 25 Matt DiBenedetto Toyota 352 Crash 0
38 3 Matt Kenseth Toyota 335 Crash 3
39 20 Ryan Blaney Ford 279 Running 0
40 30 Paul Menard Chevrolet 264 Crash 0