clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NASCAR Dover 2016 qualifying results: Brad Keselowski on pole after qualifying washout

NASCAR set the starting lineup for Sunday’s Chase elimination race using owner points.

Brad Keselowski inherited the pole for Sunday's Chase for the Sprint Cup elimination race after rain forced the cancellation of qualifying Friday at Dover International Speedway.

NASCAR set the starting grid off owner points, placing the 16 playoff drivers up front. Keselowski will share the front row with Martin Truex Jr. Defending Sprint Cup champion Kyle Busch lines up third, followed by Matt Kenseth and Joey Logano.

Truex and Kevin Harvick, who starts sixth, are the only drivers assured of advancing to the quarterfinal round of the Chase based of their respective victories the past two weeks. The remaining 10 spots will be determined after the conclusion of Sunday's race, with the four lowest-ranked winless drivers eliminated.

Kyle Larson provisionally holds the final transfer position. He is five points ahead of Jamie McMurray and Austin Dillon, 11 points up on Tony Stewart, and 30 points over rookie Chris Buescher.

Friday's washout was the sixth time qualifying was cancelled due to rain in 29 races this season, including the first Dover event in May.


Position Driver Make
1 Brad Keselowski Ford
2 Martin Truex, Jr. Toyota
3 Kyle Busch Toyota
4 Matt Kenseth Toyota
5 Joey Logano Ford
6 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet
7 Denny Hamlin Toyota
8 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet
9 Chase Elliott Chevrolet
10 Carl Edwards Toyota
11 Kurt Busch Chevrolet
12 Kyle Larson Chevrolet
13 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet
14 Austin Dillon Chevrolet
15 Tony Stewart Chevrolet
16 Chris Buescher Ford
17 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet
18 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet
19 Ryan Newman Chevrolet
20 Ryan Blaney Ford
21 A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet
22 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Ford
23 Trevor Bayne Ford
24 Danica Patrick Chevrolet
25 Greg Biffle Ford
26 Paul Menard Chevrolet
27 Aric Almirola Ford
28 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet
29 Casey Mears Chevrolet
30 Ty Dillon Chevrolet
31 Landon Cassill Ford
32 David Ragan Toyota
33 Regan Smith Chevrolet
34 Brian Scott Ford
35 Matt DiBenedetto Toyota
36 Timmy Hill Chevrolet
37 Michael Annett Chevrolet
38 Jeffrey Earnhardt Ford
39 Reed Sorenson Toyota
40 Josh Wise Chevrolet