clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NASCAR Darlington 2016 results: Full finishing order for Bojangles' Southern 500

Kevin Harvick’s repeated stumbles on pit road allowed Martin Truex Jr. to take advantage and win his second race of the season.

With a dominant Kevin Harvick repeatedly slowed in the pits, Martin Truex Jr. capitalized to win Sunday night's Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway.

Clearly possessing the fastest car, Harvick led a race-high 214 laps and was seemingly set to win his second Darlington race in three years and third of the season. But three slow pit stops over the final 100 laps cost the Stewart-Haas Racing driver a total of 17 positions, including one stop that saw Harvick fall from the lead to 12th.

Harvick's issues opened the door for Truex to take advantage, and he did by leading 27 of the remaining 28 laps and building up enough of gap that Harvick couldn't erase. The win was Truex's second of the season and first in the Southern 500, regarded as one of NASCAR's four biggest events.

"It's just amazing to win a race like this," Truex said. "The Southern 500 is just one of the ones everybody wants to win. ... To finally get it done and bring home the victory and go to victory lane here, it was a pretty amazing feeling.

"Just can't believe we won here at Darlington. It's awesome."

Harvick finished second, with Kyle Larson third, Denny Hamlin fourth and Joey Logano fifth. Completing the top 10 were Matt Kenseth, Kasey Kahne, Ryan Newman, Brad Keselowski and rookie Chase Elliott.

Afterward Harvick, who leads the Sprint Cup standings, called out his pit crew that has been mistake-prone throughout the season.

"It just seems like it's just week after week after week," Harvick said. "You have a couple good weeks here and there and every once in a while you just put together a day, but they just can't put together a whole day on pit road right now."

While Harvick lamented what could have been, Truex celebrated winning multiple races in a season for the first time in his 11-year career. His other 2016 win came in the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway in May, another crown jewel race along with the Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400 (Indianapolis).

Although the opening 95 laps were run caution-free, Darlington's reputation for chewing up cars and fraying drivers' nerves didn't disappoint. Of the 10 cautions, only one yellow flag was prompted for something other than a crash or spin.

Among the incidents was Tony Stewart appearing to intentionally spin rookie Brian Scott after Scott inadvertently blocked the three-time Sprint Cup champion. The incident saw Stewart swerve into Scott's rear quarter-panel, turning him into the inside wall.

Scott believed Stewart crashed him, while Stewart said Scott wrecked himself. NASCAR didn't penalize Stewart, but did summon him and his crew chief to meet with officials post-race. Stewart later dropped out of the race due to engine failure, finishing 35th.

"Apparently he got mad at me," Scott said. "I have a lot of respect for Tony. He has always raced me really clean. I am not sure what he thought was going on there. I am not sure if he thought I was trying to hold him up there, I wasn't. I was trying to let him go. I even pointed him to the inside. Maybe he thought I was giving him the finger or something."


Finish Start Driver Make Laps Status Led
1 8 Martin Truex, Jr. Toyota 367 Running 28
2 1 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 367 Running 214
3 16 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 367 Running 45
4 7 Denny Hamlin Toyota 367 Running 13
5 5 Joey Logano Ford 367 Running 0
6 10 Matt Kenseth Toyota 367 Running 10
7 18 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 367 Running 0
8 14 Ryan Newman Chevrolet 367 Running 9
9 2 Brad Keselowski Ford 367 Running 47
10 11 Chase Elliott Chevrolet 367 Running 0
11 6 Kyle Busch Toyota 367 Running 1
12 12 Austin Dillon Chevrolet 367 Running 0
13 20 Ryan Blaney Ford 367 Running 0
14 15 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet 367 Running 0
15 13 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 367 Running 0
16 24 Paul Menard Chevrolet 367 Running 0
17 31 Chris Buescher Ford 367 Running 0
18 22 Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Ford 367 Running 0
19 3 Carl Edwards Toyota 366 Running 0
20 33 Regan Smith Chevrolet 366 Running 0
21 32 David Ragan Toyota 366 Running 0
22 27 Clint Bowyer Chevrolet 365 Running 0
23 21 A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet 365 Running 0
24 25 Danica Patrick Chevrolet 365 Running 0
25 28 Casey Mears Chevrolet 365 Running 0
26 35 Matt DiBenedetto Toyota 364 Running 0
27 30 Michael McDowell Chevrolet 364 Running 0
28 37 Michael Annett Chevrolet 362 Running 0
29 40 Josh Wise Chevrolet 361 Running 0
30 29 Landon Cassill Ford 361 Running 0
31 39 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet 358 Running 0
32 26 Aric Almirola Ford 346 Crash 0
33 9 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 328 Running 0
34 4 Kurt Busch Chevrolet 326 Crash 0
35 17 Tony Stewart Chevrolet 317 Engine 0
36 23 Greg Biffle Ford 295 Crash 0
37 36 Cole Whitt Chevrolet 250 Electrical 0
38 38 Jeffrey Earnhardt Ford 247 Crash 0
39 34 Brian Scott Ford 199 Crash 0
40 19 Trevor Bayne Ford 161 Engine 0