clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Daytona 500 lineup 2018: Starting grid, drivers, and more

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Can-Am Duel 1 Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

Follow our live coverage of the race.

Alex Bowman has some big shoes to fill beginning Sunday, when he has the pole position in the 2018 Daytona 500, the official start of the NASCAR season at Daytona International Speedway.

Bowman earned the pole position with the top qualifying speed one week ago, and the No. 1 spot will feature a familiar No. 88 car. Bowman takes over for the retired Dale Earnhardt Jr., who won the Daytona 500 in 2004 and 2014.

“I think he’ll be the surprising young guy of this year, being that he does have the experience,” Denny Hamlin said of Bowman. “He’s just now in a car that will be contending for race wins week in and week out.”

Hamlin, the 2016 Daytona 500 winner, will start alongside Bowman in the front row in the second position, following a season that saw him win twice. Defending champ Kurt Busch starts 11th on Sunday.

Fox will televise the Daytona 500 beginning at 2:30 p.m. ET, with Mike Joy calling the race alongside Jeff Gordon and Darrell Waltrip. Online streaming is available through Fox Sports Go.

2018 Daytona 500 starting lineup

Starting Position Driver Team
Starting Position Driver Team
1 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports
2 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Ryan Blaney Team Penske
4 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports
5 Joey Logano Team Penske
6 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing
7 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports
8 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing
9 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing
10 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing
11 Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing
12 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Ryan Newman Richard Childress Racing
14 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing
15 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports
16 Paul Menard Wood Brothers Racing
17 Daniel Suarez Joe Gibbs Racing
18 Trevor Bayne Roush Fenway Racing
19 Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing
20 AJ Allmendinger JTG Daugherty Racing
21 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing
22 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports
23 Ty Dillon Germain Racing
24 Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Racing
25 Brendan Gaughan Beard Motorsports
26 Kasey Kahne Leavine Family Racing
27 Jeffrey Earnhardt StarCom Racing
28 Danica Patrick Premium Motorsports
29 Justin Marks Rick Ware Racing
30 DJ Kennington Gaunt Brothers Racing
31 Brad Keselowski Team Penske
32 Corey LaJoie TriStar Motorsports
33 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports
34 Gray Gaulding BK Racing
35 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports
36 Matt DiBenedetto Go Fas Racing
37 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing
38 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing
39 David Gilliland RBR Enterprises
40 Mark Thompson Phoenix Air Racing