clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Richmond 2018: Time, TV/live stream info, and starting grid for Toyota Owners 400

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Toyota Owners 400 - Practice Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Kyle Busch will try for a fourth straight NASCAR win on Saturday night at the Toyota Owners 400 in Richmond, Virginia (6:30 p.m., Fox), a race he has won four times in his career.

We have already had one driver win three straight races in 2018, with Kevin Harvick taking the checkered flag in Atlanta, Las Vegas and Phoenix. Now Busch followed up four straight top-three finishes with wins at Texas and Bristol, and leads the NASCAR points race eight races into the season.

“He won the mile-and-a-half race at Texas. He won at Bristol,” Fox analyst Michael Waltrip said of Busch this week. “But at Texas, Harvick was better, so I’ll probably rank Harvick and Busch about even with Truex right behind them.”

Busch is a four-time champion of this race, winning in Virginia every year from 2009-12.

Joey Logano, a two-time winner of the Toyota Owners 400 and the defending champ in Richmond, will start third on Saturday night. Martin Truex Jr. won the pole with a qualifying speed of 123.859 mph on Friday.

Busch will start 32nd, and his brother Kurt Busch starts sixth.

Fox will televise Saturday night’s race beginning at 6:30 p.m. ET, with Mike Joy on play-by-play and joined by analysts Jeff Gordon, Larry McReynolds and Darrell Waltrip. Online streaming is available through Fox Sports Go.

Toyota Owners 400 info

Location: Richmond Raceway, Richmond, Virginia

Race coverage: 6:30 p.m. ET

Green flag: 6:44 p.m.

TV: Fox

Radio: SiriusXM channel 90, and Motor Racing Network

Online streaming: Fox Sports Go

NASCAR news & notes

Busch has two wins, three second-place finishes and a third-place finish in his last six races, putting himself in prime position to be one of the final four at the NASCAR championship in Homestead in November. From our Jordan Bianchi:

In addition to owning a pair of wins that have virtually secured him a postseason berth, Busch has already accumulated 12 playoff points — tied with Kevin Harvick for series-best — and is well on his way to building up a cushion similar to what Martin Truex Jr. achieved during the regular season a year ago. Those bonus points proved critical as it propelled Truex into the Final Four where he then won the championship by outdueling Busch in a hotly contested battle.

Look for the Ford Mustang to be a part of NASCAR starting in 2019:

Ford engineers in conjunction with its primary NASCAR teams, Roush Fenway Racing, Stewart-Haas Racing, and Team Penske, are still in the initial testing phase of designing the Mustang for the Cup Series. The manufacturer must formally submit the car to NASCAR for final approval this summer, then Ford will unveil the car publicly.

Toyota Owners 400 starting lineup

Position Driver Make Speed (mph)
Position Driver Make Speed (mph)
1 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota 123.859
2 Chase Elliott Chevrolet 123.621
3 Joey Logano Ford 123.581
4 Denny Hamlin Toyota 123.542
5 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 123.22
6 Kurt Busch Ford 122.9
7 Erik Jones Toyota 122.872
8 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 122.828
9 William Byron Chevrolet 122.811
10 Kevin Harvick Ford 122.805
11 Alex Bowman Chevrolet 122.733
12 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford 122.399
13 Ryan Blaney Ford 123.063
14 Ryan Newman Chevrolet 122.85
15 David Ragan Ford 122.85
16 Clint Bowyer Ford 122.845
17 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 122.783
18 Darrell Wallace Jr. Chevrolet 122.777
19 Chris Buescher Chevrolet 122.538
20 Paul Menard Ford 122.51
21 Trevor Bayne Ford 122.438
22 Daniel Hemric Chevrolet 122.388
23 Austin Dillon Chevrolet 122.355
24 Michael McDowell Ford 122.222
25 Aric Almirola Ford 122.968
26 Daniel Suarez Toyota 122.934
27 Matt DiBenedetto Ford 122.772
28 Brad Keselowski Ford 122.722
29 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 122.688
30 Ross Chastain Chevrolet 122.644
31 Ty Dillon Chevrolet 122.377
32 Kyle Busch Toyota 122.344
33 A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet 122.266
34 Gray Gaulding Toyota 121.655
35 Cole Whitt Chevrolet 121.425
36 Landon Cassill Chevrolet 121
37 Reed Sorenson Toyota 119.745
38 Harrison Rhodes Chevrolet 119.707