clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR 2018: Talladega Superspeedway time, TV/live stream info, and starting grid for Geico 500

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series GEICO 500 - Practice Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

For the second time through just nine NASCAR races in 2018 we have a driver on a three-race win streak. Kyle Busch will try for a fourth consecutive victory on Sunday afternoon as the scene shifts to Talladega Superspeedway in Alabama for the Geico 500.

Busch has won the last three races — at Texas, Bristol and Richmond — which came shortly after Kevin Harvick also won three straight — in Atlanta and at Las Vegas and Phoenix.

“What dominance we’ve seen from Kyle Busch lately and Kevin Harvick earlier in the year,” Fox analyst Michael Waltrip said earlier this week. “What I’m wondering, though, is which drivers are going to step up next and win. We’re going to Talladega this weekend, and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. is really tough at restrictor-plate tracks, but I’m looking at Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski or Joey Logano. Those guys are going to win soon.”

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was the 2017 winner of the Geico 500, trying to become the first back-to-back winner of this race since Jeff Gordon in 2004-05. Stenhouse starts in seventh position on Sunday, with Harvick on the pole.

Harvick won this race in 2010.

Gordon will be on the call as an analyst along with Darrell Waltrip and Larry McReynolds, with Mike Joy calling the race play-by-play. Fox television coverage starts at 2 p.m. ET, with online streaming available through Fox Sports Go.

Geico 500 info

Location: Talladega Superspeedway, Lincoln, Alabama

Race coverage: 2 p.m. ET

Green flag: 2:19 p.m.

TV: Fox

Radio: SiriusXM channel 90, and Motor Racing Network

Online streaming: Fox Sports Go

NASCAR news & notes

Matt Kenseth is back, and will return to racing in a few weeks:

Kenseth’s first race in his return to Roush Fenway is May 12 at Kansas Speedway. Roush Fenway also announced Wyndham Hotels & Resorts will sponsor Kenseth and the No. 6 team in an undisclosed number of races.

“I’m looking forward to going to Kansas,” Kenseth said. “Obviously, it means a lot to me to reunite with everybody at Roush Fenway Racing and I’m really looking forward to the challenge and really looking forward to getting to work soon.”

Geico 500 starting lineup

Starting Position Driver Car make Qualifying speed (mph)
Starting Position Driver Car make Qualifying speed (mph)
1 Kevin Harvick Ford 194.448
2 Kurt Busch Ford 194.082
3 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota 193.525
4 Denny Hamlin Toyota 192.926
5 Chase Elliott Chevrolet 192.754
6 Erik Jones Toyota 192.730
7 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford 191.904
8 Clint Bowyer Ford 191.723
9 Joey Logano Ford 191.643
10 Brad Keselowski Ford 191.344
11 Alex Bowman Chevrolet 191.248
12 David Ragan Ford 191.088
13 Paul Menard Ford 191.486
14 Daniel Suarez Toyota 191.478
15 Darrell Wallace Jr. Chevrolet 191.313
16 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 191.260
17 William Byron Chevrolet 191.187
18 Ryan Newman Chevrolet 191.111
19 Kyle Busch Toyota 191.103
20 Michael McDowell Ford 190.993
21 Trevor Bayne Ford 190.985
22 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 190.943
23 Ryan Blaney Ford 190.495
24 Austin Dillon Chevrolet 190.140
25 Chris Buscher Chevrolet 189.797
26 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 189.767
27 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 189.721
28 AJ Allmendinger Chevrolet 189.714
29 Ty Dillon Chevrolet 189.645
30 Brendan Gaughan Chevrolet 188.630
31 D.J. Kennington Toyota 187.232
32 Timothy Peters Ford 187.068
33 Matt DiBenedetto Ford 186.598
34 Joey Gase Chevrolet 186.000
35 Ross Chastain Chevrolet 185.711
36 Cole Whitt Chevrolet 185.187
37 Gray Gaulding Toyota 183.793
38 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet 182.846
39 Timmy Hill Chevrolet 181.891
40 Aric Almirola Ford 175.372