clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gregg Popovich Named 2012 NBA Coach Of The Year

It's now official: San Antonio Spurs coach Gregg Popovich is your 2012 NBA Coach of the Year. Popovich won the award for the second time in his career and first since the 2002-03 season, the league announced on Tuesday. Popovich beat out Chicago Bulls coach Tom Thibodeau to take home the honor.

Popovich wins the award after guiding the Spurs to a 50-16 record and the West's No. 1 seed for the second straight year. Prior to the season, many counted the Spurs out, worried that their core was getting old. Instead, Tony Parker had his best year, Tim Duncan had another strong season and Popovich's bench developed better than anyone expected.

Thibodeau loses the award despite guiding the Bulls to a 50-16 record without star Derrick Rose for 27 games. Indiana Pacers coach Frank Vogel finished third, Memphis Grizzlies coach Lionel Hollins was fourth and Boston Celtics coach Doc Rivers was fifth in the voting.

For more on the Spurs, visit Pounding the Rock.