clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2012 NBA All-Defensive Teams Announced, LeBron James Leads First Team

The 2012 NBA All-Defensive Teams were announced, and Miami Heat star LeBron James is the leading vote-getter for the squads. James picked up 24 first-team votes and five-second team votes to earn the most points. The rest of the first team includes Oklahoma City Thunder forward Serge Ibaka, Orlando Magic center Dwight Howard, Los Angeles Clippers guard Chris Paul and Memphis Grizzlies guard Tony Allen.

Curiously, New York Knicks center Tyson Chandler, who won the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year, did not make the first team. There's a different voting body for the two honors -- the media votes on the Defensive Player of the Year, while NBA coaches vote on the All-Defense teams -- but it's odd to see there be this big of a difference. Kevin Garnett, Rajon Rondo, Luol Deng and Kobe Bryant joined Chandler on the second team.

Other players receiving votes included Philadelphia 76ers forward Andre Iguodala, Bulls center Joakim Noah and Knicks guard Iman Shumpert.