clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Spurs' Big 3 set NBA playoff wins record

The trio of Tim Duncan, Tony Parker and Manu Ginobili have won 111 postseason games together, setting a new NBA record.

Soobum Im-USA TODAY Sports
SB Nation 2014 NBA Playoff Bracket

The San Antonio Spurs' 112-77 shellacking of the Oklahoma City Thunder in Game 2 of the Western Conference Finals wasn't just impressive, but also record-breaking. With the win, Tim Duncan, Tony Parker and Manu Ginobili moved into first all-time for NBA playoff wins as a trio.

The dominant victory was the trio's 111th in the postseason since first coming together in the 2002-03 season, vaulting them past the Los Angeles Lakers' threesome of Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Michael Cooper. That group won 110 postseason games from 1979-80 to 1988-89.

Over the course of the Spurs' run, Duncan, Parker and Ginobili have won three titles and been to four NBA Finals. The way things are looking, that will soon become five NBA Finals appearances, and there's a good chance a fourth title will be had. The trio has also been to three straight Western Conference Finals and seven overall.

The third-place trio on the all-time playoff wins list also included Johnson and Jabbar, only the third member was Byron Scott. In fourth is the Boston Celtics' trio of Larry Bird, Kevin McHale and Robert Parish:


For reference, Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen and Horace Grant won 68 postseason games together.


Get news, links and Ziller's #hottakes in your inbox every weekday morning.