clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chris Webber gets snubbed by the Hall of Fame again

New, comments

The 2016 Hall of Fame finalists were revealed, and for the second year in a row, Chris Webber didn't make the cut. Allen Iverson, Shaquille O'Neal, Yao Ming and Kevin Johnson did.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The Basketball Hall of Fame's finalists for the North American and Women committees have been revealed. As expected, Shaquille O'Neal and Allen Iverson made the cut. Surprisingly, Chris Webber was snubbed for the second year in a row.

There's really no reason for Webber to get the cold shoulder. He was a college star before entering the NBA and eventually became one of the league's best players. He led the Sacramento Kings to a conference finals appearance and finished his career with averages of 20.7 points, 9.8 rebounds, 4.2 assists, 1.4 steals and 1.4 blocks. He never won a championship, but there are plenty of players who haven't that have actually been enshrined.

The Hall will have a chance to remedy this situation next year, when Webber will hopefully at least make it past the first cut. Eventually, he should get a spot in Springfield.

Here are the finalists.

Women's committee

Leta Andrews (Coach)

Muffet McGraw (Coach)

Sheryl Swoopes (Player)

1954-58 Wayland Basketball University (Team)

North American committee

Charles "Lefty" Driesell (Coach)

Darell Garretson (Referee)

Robert Hughes (Coach)

Allen Iverson (Player)

Tom Izzo (Coach)

John McLendon (Coach)

Kevin Johnson (Player)

Shaquille O'Neal (Player)

Bo Ryan (Coach)

Eddie Sutton (Coach)

The finalists for the other committees will be revealed during the NCAA Tournament's Final Four.