clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Connecticut Among 10 Teams Banned From Postseason Play Due To Low APR Scores

Ten D-I men's basketball teams, including Connecticut, will not be allowed to participate in the 2013 postseason because of low APR scores.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Getty Images

The NCAA released the Academic Progress Rates (APR) for all Division-I programs on Wednesday, and 10 men's basketball teams, including Connecticut, are now officially banned from postseason play in 2013 because of low scores.

The 10 teams drew additional penalties for their poor classroom performances, which in some cases included a reduction of scholarships and/or the loss of four hours of practice time per week.

In addition to Connecticut, the other nine teams who will not be allowed to permit in any postseason tournament this season are:

• California State-Bakersfield
• Jacksonville State
• Mississippi Valley State
• Texas A&M Corpus Christi
• Towson
• Arkansas-Pine Bluff
• California-Riverside
• North Carolina-Wilmington
• Toledo

The NCAA has stated that they are still reviewing the data from Cal State-Bakersfield, and that there is a chance that decision could be reversed.

On the flip side, 2012 national runner-up Kansas, Sweet 16 qualifier Lehigh and five other NCAA Tournament teams (Belmont, Memphis, Michigan, Notre Dame and Texas) were among the 11 men's basketball programs that scored a perfect 1000.