clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards: Auburn's Nick Fairley Wins Vince Lombardi Trophy For Outstanding Lineman

Auburn’s Nick Fairley was awarded the trophy for most outstanding college lineman in the nation for 2010 on Wednesday night in Houston, TX. He beat out Clemson’s Da’Quan Bowers, Iowa’s Adrian Clayborn and TCU’s Jake Kirkpatrick.

Fairley posted 10.5 sacks this season as a dominating defensive tackle, along with 21 tackles for loss — an SEC record — and was the conference’s defensive player of the year, as named by the Associated Press earlier in the week.

Fairley is also a finalist for the Bednarik Award, which goes to the nation’s top defender. Fairley accepted the award alongside his position coach Tracy Rocker, won also the award in 1988.

This isn’t the first, or last, postseason award for Auburn this season. Their coach, Gene Chizik, won the Home Depot trophy for coach of the year, and QB Cam Newton is the clear favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night.

For more on Fairley’s trophy win and more Auburn updates, keep an eye on Track Em Tigers.