clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards: Cam Newton Wins Davey O'Brien Award, The Last Award He Will Ever Win

Auburn Tigers QB Cam Newton has won the 2010 Davey O’Brien Award, presented annually to the nation’s best quarterback. No Auburn player has ever won the award before, and only three SEC players have taken home the Davey.

Newton will never win any other award as long as he lives, not tonight and not Saturday night. His achievements on the football field this season, including leading Auburn to an undefeated SEC Championship run and BCS National Championship Game appearance, have been totally matched by this and the previous award, the Walter Camp.

I’m told the Maxwell Award will actually be given out tonight, and that Newton will probably win that one too. That will be the end of it though.

Also, the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night. That may be one of the last awards he wins in this calendar year.

Join Track Em Tigers to plot Newton’s awards future.