clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards: Arkansas TE, Twitter Superstar D.J. Williams Wins 2010 Mackey Award

D.J. Williams, Arkansas tight end and SB Nation's Social Media Scholar-Athlete Of The Year, is the proud and excitable recipient of the 2010 John Mackey Award, bestowed upon the nation's premier TE, according to ... himself:

The second award Williams refers to is something called the "Disney Spirit Award," which he'll receive during tonight's broadcast, but after getting Princess Jasmine's number, really, it's all downhill emotionally.

Williams follows Florida's Aaron Hernandez as a Mackey recipient, after a four-year career with the Razorbacks in which he recorded close to 1,800 yards on 144 receptions. His best season came as a sophomore in 2008, when he finished a bare yard shy of 700, but his 2010 campaign was nothing to sneeze about: 49 receptions, 589 receiving yards, and four touchdowns, with a plump 12 yards per catch average. His best game was Arkansas' 38-31 victory over Mississippi State, in which he racked up 70 yards on just four catches.

Celebrate Williams' career as a Hog at SB Nation's Arkansas Expats.