clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards: 2010 'Academic Heisman' Goes To Texas' Sam Acho

The William V. Campbell Trophy, awarded annually to a top scholar-athlete in college football, has been given this year to defensive end Sam Acho of Texas. The senior Longhorn is the second Texas player in four years to receive the "Academic Heisman," along with Dallas Griffin in 2007. Acho cited Griffin in an inspiration in his statement following the announcement on Tuesday:

I'm just honored to be a part of this. Looking back, we had a winner of this award four years ago, Dallas Griffin. He won when I was a freshman and he really inspired me to strive for excellence and to do my best on the field and in the classroom. We have the same major and I really looked to him as a mentor. I wouldn't be here today without him, without my family and the family I've developed at The University of Texas.

SB Nation's Texas community, Burnt Orange Nation, has a nice little video up of Acho. Visit BON for all your Longhorn athletics news and discussion.